IPL 2017 DD v SRH: Kane Williamson's splendid 89 runs knock guides SRH to comfortable win over Delhi by 15 runs

After electing to bat first on winning the toss, Sunrisers Hyderabad post a challenging 191/4 total on board against Delhi Daredevils

Thanks to Kane Williamson’s fiery knock from the bat and some discipline performance by Mohammed Siraj from the ball, Sunrisers Hyderabad register a comfortable victory over Delhi Daredevils in an Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad on April 19.

After electing to bat first on winning the toss, superb batting display from Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson helped SRH post a challenging 191/4 total on board against Delhi Daredevils. This was Kane Williamson’s debut game in the IPL season 10.

After losing skipper David Warner early, Kane Williamson along with Shikhar Dhawan thrashed Delhi bowlers all around the park as they together put up a 136-run partnership for the second wicket.


Williamson during his 89 runs knock from just 51 balls, smashed 6 fours and 5 sixes. While, an explosive left-handed opening batsman from India, Shikhar Dhawan played the sensible knock of 70 runs. He played 50 balls and smashed 7 fours and 1 six.

In reply, Delhi Daredevils could only manage to score 176/ 5.  They lost the battle by 15 runs. For Delhi, Shreyas Iyer played 50 runs (not out) knock to provide some hope for the visitors. Besides Shreyas, Sanju Samson played a vital knock of 41 runs.  But they kept losing the wickets at the regular intervals.

PV Sindhu

For Hyderabad, Mohammed Siraj was the pick of the bowler for picking 2 wickets in his quota of 4 overs.

Williamson for his match winning knock received the man of the match award.

This was the fourth consecutive victory for the Sunrisers Hyderabad at home. With this victory, the SRH has retained their second position in the points table with 4 wins in 6 games played and 8 points in their account. They’ll be playing their next game against the Rising Pune Supergiant in Pune on April 22.

For interesting sports videos from InUth, follow us on