Team India squad announced for South Africa tour; Parthiv recalled, Bumrah gets maiden Test callup!

Team India will be tested in South Africa in the three-Test series after a long home season where they dominated every team

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announce Team India’s 17-man squad for the upcoming Test series against South Africa starting January 5, 2018. It was quite surprising to know that India will be going with a 17-men squad for their tour of South Africa. What was more surprising was, Parthiv Patel gets included in the squad. Patel had a decent Ranji Trophy season 2017-18 with a top knock of 173 against Rajasthan. Jasprit Bumrah got his maiden Test call-up. Bumrah has been performing consistently in the limited overs format and gets a reward for his performances in international and domestic cricket.

Here’s the full squad for the upcoming India vs South Africa Test series –

Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Wridhhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli’s return throw hits Sadeera Samarawickrama and what happened next is ‘true sportsmanship’ — WATCH

Bhuvneshwar will be rejoining the Test team after his marriage. The fast bowler has not being included in the T20I squad against Sri Lanka at home.

ALSO READ: Team India for T20I series against Sri Lanka announced; Sundar, Thampi and Hooda get maiden call-up

Ishant Sharma got a reward for his performance for Delhi in Ranji Trophy and against Sri Lanka at home. Hardik Pandya will be making a comeback after being rested for the India vs Sri Lanka Test series.