Team India for T20I series against Sri Lanka announced; Sundar, Thampi and Hooda get maiden call-up

Virat Kohli has been rested for the upcoming three-T20I series against Sri Lanka ahead of the important upcoming series against South Africa

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka after announcing the Test squad for India vs Sri Lanka T20I series. The T20I squad is full of surprises as three Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 stars will be up for making a debut in the three-T20I series. Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) spinner Washington Sundar. Gujarat Lions (GL) fast bowler Basil Thampi and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) all-rounder Deepak Hooda are the three uncapped player included in the squad.

The surprise inclusions did not just end there, RPS left-arm fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat is all set to make his comeback in the T20I squad. Unadkat was the second highest wicket-taker in the IPL 2017 with 24 wickets from 12 matches.

Team India squad for upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka –

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli’s return throw hits Sadeera Samarawickrama and what happened next is ‘true sportsmanship’ — WATCH

The squad is filled with youngsters. Mohammad Siraj, Shreyas Iyer retain their spot despite not living upto the promise against New Zealand.

ALSO READ: Team India squad announced for South Africa tour; Parthiv recalled, Bumrah gets maiden Test callup!

Rohit Sharma will be leading the T20I squad. The most experienced player in the side is MS Dhoni. India will be playing three T20Is against Sri Lanka starting December 20 and ending on December 24.