IPL 2018 Retention: CSK retain Dhoni, Raina, RCB retain Kohli for Rs 17 crore. Full list inside

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja are back in Chennai Super Kings. Virat Kohli becomes the most expensive player in IPL history

Ahead of the eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), all the eight franchises announced the names of their retained players on January 4. Teams like Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR), which are back in the tournament after facing a ban of two years, have created quite a buzz right ahead of the auctions. The IPL council has already laid new rules and regulations including the Right to match (RTM) card which is going to make the upcoming auction event in the last week of January more exciting.

The retention turned out to be a surprise for the Indian cricket fans. The Royal Challengers Bangalore retained Virat Kohli for Rs 17 Cr which made the Indian cricket team captain the most expensive cricketer in the IPL history.

Shah Rukh Khan-owned Kolkata Knight Riders have, shockingly, not retained Gautam Gambhir while Kings Xi Punjab retained only one player – Axar Patel.

ALSO READ: 5 retired players who may earn millions in IPL 2018 player auction

Here’s the complete list of the retained players:

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan (uncapped)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Sunil Narine, Andre Russell

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Chennai Super Kings (SRH): MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja

Rajasthan Royals (RR): Steven Smith

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP): Axar Patel

Mumbai Indians (MI): Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya

Delhi Daredevils (DD): Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer

Players Retained and their prices:

Virat Kohli (RCB) – Rs. 17 Cr

AB de Villiers (RCB) – Rs. 11 Cr

Sarfaraz Khan (RCB) – Rs. 1.75 Cr

MS Dhoni (CSK) – Rs. 15 Cr

Suresh Raina (CSK) – Rs. 11 Cr

Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) – Rs. 7 Cr

David Warner (SRH) – Rs. 12 Cr

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) – Rs. 8.5 Cr

Steve Smith (RR) – Rs. 12 Cr

Rohit Sharma (MI) – Rs. 15 Cr

Hardik Pandya (MI) – Rs. 11 Cr

Jasprit Bumrah (MI) – Rs. 7 Cr

Sunil Narine (KKR) – Rs. 8.5 cr

Andre Russell (KKR) – Rs. 7 Cr

Axar Patel (KXIP) – Rs. 6.75 Cr

Rishabh Pant (DD) – Rs. 8 Cr

Chris Morris (DD) – Rs. 7.1 Cr

Shreyas Iyer (DD) – Rs. 7 Cr

RTMs and Purse available with each franchise:

TEAMS Available RTMs Available Purse
DD 2 Rs 47 Cr
KXIP 3    Rs 67.5 Cr
KKR 3 Rs 59 Cr
SRH 3 Rs 59 Cr
CSK 2 Rs 47 Cr
MI 2 Rs 47 Cr
RR 3     Rs 67.5 Cr
RCB 2 Rs 49 Cr


There have been major changes in the coaching department as well. Ashish Nehra and Gary Kirsten have been appointed as the bowling and batting coaches of RCB. Brad Hodge will be appointed as the head coach of KXIP after mentoring Gujarat Lions in the previous edition.

Ricky Ponting has been appointed as the head coach of the Delhi Daredevils.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018 player auction: Here’s your guide to new rules and regulations. Explained step by step

In case you are wondering what is RTM? Here’s the answer to your query:

A franchise can also retain a player during the auction by matching the highest bid. For instance, let’s say CSK doesn’t retain Ravichandran Ashwin before the auction and let’s assume the highest bid for Ashwin is by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) of Rs 2 crores. In this case, if CSK wants Ashwin, they have the right to match the price of the highest bid and retain him.

RTM will make the IPL 2018 auction interesting as franchises will wait for others to finish the bidding and then retain the player.

As compared to last two years’ salary cap, the purse limit has been increased to Rs 80 crores for this auction. The salary cap will be increased to Rs 82 crore and Rs 85 crore respectively in 2019 and 2020. The minimum amount a franchise has to spend is Rs 60 crore, which is 75 percent of the salary cap.