British trio win Nobel prize in Physics

British scientists win Nobel prize in Physics for their work on exotic phases of matter

British scientists David Thouless, Duncan M. Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz bagged the Nobel Prize in Physics for their work on topological phases of matter.

“The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 with one-half to David J. Thouless and the other half to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter,” a release from the Nobel Prize organisation wrote.

The three laureates used advanced mathematical methods to study unusual states of matter including superconductors and superfluids.

“Current research is revealing the secrets of matter in the exotic worlds discovered by this year’s Nobel Laureates,” the release added.

Whole Thouless is an Emeritus Professor at the University of Washington, Haldane is the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics at the Princeton University and Kosterlitz is Harrison E. Farnsworth Professor of Physics at Brown University in the United States.