Rajasthan Royals Appoint India's Domestic Cricket Legend Amol Muzumdar As Batting Coach!

Rajasthan Royals have a new batting coach for IPL 2018

Rajasthan Royals are going to make a comeback in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) after a ban of two years. RR appointed former Australian legend Shane Warner as their mentor after the IPL 2018 auctions. Now, they have announced India’s former cricketer Amol Muzumdar as their batting coach for the eleventh edition of the cash-rich tournament.

The Mumbai batsman was a legend in the domestic circuit, having scored 30 centuries in his First-Class career. He could not make it into India’s dressing room but had a decent domestic career with 11,167 runs in 171 matches at an average of 48.13, including 60 half-centuries. He did not have much experience in the T20 format as he played only 14 matches.

But, Muzumdar is well aware of the pitch conditions all over the country and will prove to be a boost for domestic players and overseas batsmen like D’Arcy Short and Zahir Khan Pakteen who are unfamiliar with the conditions.

Here’s the video on Rajasthan Royals announcing the new batting coach —

ALSO READ: KL Rahul Becomes First Indian To Get Out Hit-Wicket In T20Is, Gets Trolled On Twitter

Australian skipper Steven Smith who was retained for Rs 12.5 crore will be leading Royals in this season. Unlike the previous seasons, the franchise owners went all out to get England all-rounder Ben Stokes as well as other players like Short, Jofra Archer, Rahul Tripathi, Jaydev Unadkat and others.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018 Anthem Released: Fans Find It ‘Boring’, Demand Something Like ‘India Ka Tyohar’

Here’s a look at Rajasthan Royals’ squad for the upcoming season —

Steve Smith (retained 12.5 crore), Ben Stokes (12.5 c), Ajinkya Rahane (4 c), Stuart Binny (50 Lakh), Sanju Samson (8 c), Jos Buttler (4.4 c), Rahul Tripathi (3.4 c), D’Arcy Short (4 c), Jofra Archer (7.2 c), K Gowtham (6.2 Cr), Dhawal Kulkarni (75L RTM), Jaydev Unadkat (11.5 cr), Ankit Sharma (20L), Anureet Singh (30L), Zahir Khan Pakteen (60L), Shreyas Gopal (20L), MS Midhun (20L) Prashant Chopra (20 lakh), Ben Laughlin (Rs 50 Lakh), Mahipal Lomror (Rs 20 Lakh), Jatin Saxena (Rs 20 Lakh), Aryaman Vikram Birla (Rs 30 Lakh) and Dushmanta Chameera (Rs 50 Lakh)