Pro Kabaddi League 2017 Opening Ceremony: Akshay Kumar's rendition of National Anthem will give you goosebumps

Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar has been specially invited by the organisers to sing the National Anthem at the opening ceremony while Rana Daggubati, Sachin Tendulkar, Mithali Raj, B. Sai Praneeth, Kidambi Srikanth are among other guests

19:58 IST Bollywood star Akshay Kumar sings the national Anthem and here begin the game. Telugu Titan win the toss and opts for the side. The match begins!

19:50 IST Bahubali fame, Telugu actor Rana Daggubati is also in the house. The first game is going to start very soon while Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar will sing the National Anthem!

19: 46 IST The master blaster of cricket, the God, Sachin Tendulkar is in the house. he is expressing his views and excitement about the new season. He says,”It’s amazing to be here. I have been following all the seasons of PKL. In my childhood days, I used to play this game with my friends as well.”

19: 42 IST A few minutes left for the action of the fifth edition of the Pro Kabaddi League. The stage is all set for the players and the fans are excited about a new season.

18: 45 IST The first game of the season is all set to begin. This year, the tournament gigantic and the enthusiasm is amazing. Better than before, bigger than before and completely packed with entertainment. 12 teams, The ultimate kabaddi battle is all set to take over the nation!

Pro Kabaddi League Season 5

Pro Kabaddi League Season 5

19:15 IST Sachin Tendulkar is all set for today’s event. Are you?

18:15 IST Let’s have a look at the teams playing in the opening game.

The Telugu Titans: The owned by Veer Sports is one of the most entertaining teams but haven’t played a single till date. Blessed with quite a few quality players, a strong first leg will be very key for them.

Squad: Rahul Chaudhari, Vishal Bharadwaj, Athul M S, Sombir, Farhad Rahimi Milaghardan, Rakesh Kumar, Rohit Rana, Mohsen Maghsoudloujafari, Vinod Kumar, Amit Singh Chillar, Vikas Kumar, Vikas, Nilesh Salunke, Vinoth Kumar, Munish, Vikrant, Ankit Malik, Elangeshwaran R – 18 Members (16 Indian, 2 Overseas)

The Tamil Thalaivas: 25 Members (22 Indian, 3 Overseas)

Squad: Ajay Thakur, Bhavani Rajput, Prathap, Rajesh, Anil Kumar, Amit Hooda, Mugilan, Donggeon Lee , Waleed Al Hasani, Chansik Park, Anil Kumar, C. Arun, Sanket Chavan, T. Prabhakaran, M. Thivakaran, Sombir, Vijay Kumar, Vijin Thangadurai, Muruthu M, Vineet Sharma, K. Prapanjan, Sujit Maharana, Darshan J., Sarang Arun Deshmukh, Ananthkumar

U Mumba: 18 members (15 Indian, 3 Overseas)

Squad: Anup Kumar, E Subash, Surender Singh, Shiv Om, Hadi Oshtorak, Yongjoo Ok, Dongju Hong, Kuldeep Singh, Joginder Singh Narwal, Kashiling Adake, Nitin Madane, Shabeer Bappu, D. Suresh Kumar, Darsan, Shrikant Jadhav, Deepak Yadav, N. Renjith, Mohan Raman G

Puneri Paltan: 15 Members (13 Indian, 2 Overseas)

Squad: Deepak Hooda, Ziaur Rahman, Takamitsu Kono, Sandeep Narwal, Girish Maruti Ernak, Dharmaraj Cheralathan, Rajesh Mondal, Ravi Kumar, Rohit Kumar Choudary, Umesh Mhatre, More G B, Akshay Jadhav, Suresh Kumar, Ajay, Narender Hooda


Welcome to the LIVE coverage of Pro Kabaddi League 2017, Season 5 opening ceremony. The fifth season of the Pro Kabaddi League is all set to begin on July 28 at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad. In 2016, there 8 teams who participated in this grand Kabaddi League but this year, the tournament is going to be much bigger. In the 5th edition, a total of 12 teams will fight for the title for the coming 13 weeks. Apart from the eight old teams, the newly added sides are — Gujarat Fortunegiants, Haryana Steelers, UP Yoddha and Tamil Thalaivas.

Like every year, the opening ceremony will be having several film and cricket stars who are going to be the centre of attraction of this mega event. Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar has been specially invited by the organisers to sing the National Anthem at the opening ceremony. Also adding glitz and glamour to the event are “Baahubali” fame Rana Dagubatti and cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar.

Among others invited celebrities, the event will be attended by women’s cricket team skipper Mithali Raj, and badminton players B. Sai Praneeth, Kidambi Srikanth and R.M.V. Gurusaidutt, will also be present at the event. Renowned badminton coach P. Gopichand will also attend the event at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium.

The first match of the current edition will kick start right after the opening ceremony. On the first day of the campaign, Titans clash with Ajay Thakur-captained Tamil Thalaivas, while former champions U Mumba, who will be led by veteran Anup Kumar, will take on Deepak Niwas Hooda-captained Puneri Paltan at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium.

Zone A consists of Dabang Delhi, Jaipur Pink Panthers, Puneri Paltan, U Mumba, Haryana Steelers and Gujarat Fortunegiants while Zone B will have Telugu Titans, Bengaluru Bulls, Patna Pirates, Bengal Warriors, UP Yoddha and Tamil Thalaivas.

The Prize Money:

This edition will have a larger prize money of Rs 8 crore ($1,244,800) – a significant and unprecedented jump of Rs 6 crore – with the title winners taking home Rs 3 crore ($466,800).

The runners-up will be awarded Rs 1.8 crore ($280,080), while the team that finishes in the third place will win Rs 1.2 crore ($186,720).

The Most Valuable Player prize is also receiving a boost this season, with the awardee set to win Rs 15 lakh ($23,340).

For interesting videos from InUth, follow us on