PM Narendra Modi to watch FIFA Under 17 World Cup opener between India and USA in New Delhi

For the first time in the history, India is going to host a FIFA tournament. Indian team will take on the USA in their opening game on October 6 at JNL Stadium, Delhi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with FIFA General Secretary Fatma Samoura and Head of FIFA tournaments Jaime Yarza will attend the inaugural match of FIFA Under-17 World Cup 2017 between India and the USA on October 6 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (JLN Stadium) in Delhi. Apart from the Indian Prime Minister and FIFA top officials, Indian football legends IM Vijayan, Bhaichung Bhutia and current national team captain Sunil Chhetri are also likely to be part of the historical moment.

“PM Modi, FIFA General Secretary, Head of FIFA tournaments will be there on the inaugural day,” news agency IANS quoted a source as saying.

India is going to host as well as participate in a FIFA tournament for the first time in the country’s history. 24 teams from across the world will be participating in this tournament, while all eyes will on the home team led by midfielder Amarjit Singh.

21 skilled players from different Indian states successfully made into the Indian team, which is going to play their first match on October 6. The game will commence at 8 pm IST. The first match, though, will be played between Colombia and Ghana at 5 pm at the JLN stadium.

Earlier today, the Union Sports Minister and Olympian Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore visited the venue for the final round of inspection. He took to his official Twitter account to share a few pictures of his visit.

Through another tweet, he shared the information on when and where to watch India’s match.

Here’s the Indian squad which is going to take on the Americans:

Goalkeepers: Dheeraj Singh, Prabhsukhan Gill, Sunny Dhaliwal

Defenders: Boris Singh, Jitendra Singh, Anwar Ali, Sanjeev Stalin, Hendry Antonay, Namit Deshpande

Midfielders: Suresh Singh, Ninthoinganba Meetei, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Abhijit Sarkar, Komal Thatal, Lalengmawia, Jeakson Singh, Nongdamba Naorem, Rahul Kannoly Praveen, Md. Shahjahan

Forwards: Rahim Ali, Aniket Jadhav

India is in Group A and will play Colombia and Ghana on October 9 and 12 respectively.

For interesting videos from InUth, follow us on