Virat Kohli becomes most expensive player in IPL history, RCB retain skipper for Rs 17 Cr

Virat Kohli has cracked the biggest deal ever in the IPL. Lt's have a look at the list of the most expensive IPL players from all the seasons

Indian skipper Virat Kohli has become the most expensive player in the history of Indin Premier League (IPL). Ahead of the mega-auction of the IPL 11, all the 8 franchises gathered to announce the retained players on January 4 where Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retained their skipper for a huge amount of Rs. 17 Crore along with South African batsman AB de Villiers (Rs 11 Cr) and Uttar Pradesh’s Sarfaraz Khan (Rs 1.75 Cr).

Earlier, it was Yuvraj Singh who was the most expensive player. In 2015, Yuvraj was bought by the RCB for Rs 16 Crore. And now when Virat Kohli has cracked the biggest deal, here’s the list of the most expensive IPL players till date.

Sl No Player Franchise Price Year
1 Virat Kohli RCB Rs 17 Cr 2018
2 Yuvraj Singh RCB Rs 16 Cr 2015
3 Gautam Gambhir KKR Rs 15 Cr 2011
4 Ben Stokes RPS Rs 14.5 Cr 2017
5 Yusuf Pathan KKR Rs 13 Cr 2011


ALSO READ: IPL 2018 Retention: CSK retain Dhoni, Raina, RCB retain Kohli for Rs 17 crore. Full list inside

Following is the list of players retained by the 8 IPL franchises and their respective prices:

Virat Kohli (RCB) – Rs. 17 Cr

AB de Villiers (RCB) – Rs. 11 Cr

Sarfaraz Khan (RCB) – Rs. 1.75 Cr

MS Dhoni (CSK) – Rs. 15 Cr

Suresh Raina (CSK) – Rs. 11 Cr

Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) – Rs. 7 Cr

David Warner (SRH) – Rs. 12 Cr

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) – Rs. 8.5 Cr

Steve Smith (RR) – Rs. 12 Cr

Rohit Sharma (MI) – Rs. 15 Cr

Hardik Pandya (MI) – Rs. 11 Cr

Jasprit Bumrah (MI) – Rs. 7 Cr

Sunil Narine (KKR) – Rs. 8.5 cr

Andre Russell (KKR) – Rs. 7 Cr

Axar Patel (KXIP) – Rs. 6.75 Cr

Rishabh Pant (DD) – Rs. 8 Cr

Chris Morris (DD) – Rs. 7.1 Cr

Shreyas Iyer (DD) – Rs. 7 Cr

On the other hand, the teams like Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) made their comeback in the tournament after facing a ban of 2-years. SK retained MS Dhoni (15 Cr), Ravindra Jadeja (Rs 7 Cr) and Suresh Raina (Rs 11 Cr) while RR retained only one player – Steve Smith (Rs 12 Cr).

ALSO READ: Gautam Gambhir fans troll KKR, Shah Rukh Khan for dumping him in IPL 2018 retention

The eleventh edition of IPL commences from April 4, 2018, and will end on May 31, 2018.