These special pens with violet ink are being used for voting in presidential polls 2017

For smooth voting in the presidential poll, 32 polling stations have been established by the Election Commission of India.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has come up with new initiatives ahead of the presidential polls today. The EC has decided that this time unique serial numbered special pens of violet ink will be used for voting to ensure that only instrument supplied by the poll watchdog is used for marking the ballot.

Before entering into the voting chamber, the polling staff will collect the personal pens and will give the special pen to MPs/MLAs for marking ballot.

The special pen will be taken back once the member comes out of the voting chamber. Voting by using personal pen may lead to invalidation of the vote at the time of counting under Rule 31 (1) (d) of the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Poll Rules 1974.

In another first, special posters have been prepared for do’s and dont’s so as to ensure a peaceful poll session, use of only ECI pen, maintenance of secrecy and non-issuance of whip etc.

For smooth voting, 32 polling stations have been established by the Election Commission – one in Parliament House and rest one each in the State legislative assemblies.

Other things to know:

  • The ballot paper will be in two colours – Green color Ballot is for MPs and Pink is for the MLAs.
  • The ballot paper will have two columns – first column containing candidates’ names and second column for marking preferences by electors.

Video Courtesy: YouTube

  • The ballot paper will be in English and Hindi for use by MPs and in official languages of the state and in English for use by MLAs.
  • The ECI has permitted 14 Rajya Sabha members, 41 Lok Sabha members to vote in the state legislative assemblies instead in Parliament.
  • The counting of votes will take place on July 20.

For interesting news videos from InUth, follow us on