Palaniswami new Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, 30 others inducted; here's full list of ministers and their portfolios

Thiru E Palaniswami was also backed by 124 MLAs which further garnered the required strength within the party to form a new government

The long tussle for power in the state has come to an end after the VK Sasikala faction defeated the O Pannerselvam camp and with that, E Palaniswami swore in as the new Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on February 16. Along with Palaniswami, 30 other AIADMK leaders took oath as ministers in the state cabinet.

Palaniswami was initially appointed as the AIADMK general secretary by Sasikala when she was ordered by the Supreme Court to surrender after she was convicted in the disproportionate assets case. He was also backed by 124 MLAs which further garnered the required strength within the party to form a new government, thereby leading to O Pannerselvam’s exit from the race of the prime ruler of the state.

Earlier this day, Thiru E Palaniswami met Governor Vidyasagar Rao and handed over the list of 31 ministers who have now become the part of Tamil Nadu state cabinet holding various portfolios. In return, the honourable Governor approved the list and all the ministers including Palaniswami, who swore in later in the afternoon.

Here is the list and portfolio of the ministers included in the state cabinet:

Sl. no. Minster’s Name Minister’s Designation
1 K Palaniswami Chief Minister
2 C Sreenivasan Minister of Forests
3 KA Sengottaiyan Minister for School Education & Sports and Youth Welfare
4 K Raju Minister for Cooperation
5 P Thangamani Ministry for Electricity, Prohibition and Excise
6 SP Velumani Minister for Municipal Administration and Rural Development, Implementation of Special Programme
7 D Jayakumar Minister for Fisheries
8 CV Shanmugam Minister for Law, Courts and Prisons
9 KP Anbalagan Minister for Higher Education
10 P Benjamin Minister for Rural Industries
11 Dr Nilofer Kafeel Minister for Labour
12 MR Vijayabaskar Minister for Transport
13 M Manikandan Minister for Information Technology
14 VM Rajalakshmi Minister for Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welfare
15 G Baskaran Minister for Khadi and Village Industries Board
16 S Ramachandran Minister for Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments
17 S Valarmathi Minister for Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare
18 P Balakrishna Reddy Minister for Animal Husbandry
19 V Saroja Minister for Social Welfare and Nutritious Noon Meal Programme
20 MC Sampath Minister for Industries
21 KC Karuppanan Minister for Environment
22 R Kamaraj Minister for Food & Civil Supplies
23 OS Manjan Minister for Handlooms and Textiles
24 K Radhakrishnan Minister for Housing and Urban Development
25 Dr C Vijaya Baskar Minister for Health and Family Welfare
26 R Doraikkantu Minister for Agriculture
27 Kadambur Raju Minister for Information and Publicity
28 RB Udhaykumar Minister for Revenue
29 N Natarajan Minister for Tourism
30 KC Veeramani Minister for Commercial Taxes
31 KT Rajenthra Bhalaji Minister for Milk and Dairy Development


Further, Palaniswami has been given a time of 15 days to prove majority. Following the development, AIADMK MLAs left Golden Bay resort in Kovathur for Raj Bhavan in Chennai to attend the oath taking ceremony. Hailing from state’s western Kongu belt, Palaniswami is considered a popular name in his gounder community.