Nagpur Municipal Election Results 2017 Live Updates: BJP wins 91 seats, Congress 23

Nagpur Election Results, Nagpur Election Results 2017, Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Nagpur Municipal Corporation Results, Nagpur Municipal Corporation Results 2017


The Nagpur Municipal Elections took place on February 21. Despite high voltage campaigns for the civic polls, Nagpur recorded a voter turnout of only 53%. Some of the reports suggested that the voter turnout turned out to be low because a number of people who came out to vote could not cast their votes because of errors in electoral rolls.

BJP leaders had claimed that they were expecting a voter turnout of 70%. Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis cast his vote along with his wife in Nagpur. It is a tough task for him to match up to Shiv Sena. It indeed would be interesting to witness whether BJP will be successful in emerging as a winner despite Shiv Sena’s stronghold in the state.

Apart from Nashik, other municipal corporations for which went counting will be held are Mumbai, Thane, Ulhasnagar, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Akola, Amravati and Nashik.

Stay tuned for live updates:
6:35 PM: BJP wins 91 seats

5:45 PM: BJP ahead with 86 wins

5:30 PM: BJP surges ahead with 82 wins in its kitty

5:00 PM: BJP wins 74 seats, Congress bags 23

4:45 PM: All BJP candidates who have won will meet Union Minister Nitin Gadkari at his residence in Nagpur today.

4:25 PM: BJP wins 58 seats, Congress bags 19, NCP wins 1 seat

4:20 PM: Amrita Fadnavis thanks voters for their support to the BJP

4:10 PM:

3:45 PM: BJP ecstatic at the victory

3:40 PM: Congress wins 12 seats, NCP wins 1

3:30 PM: BJP is moving ahead, has already won 24 seats and is now ahead in 24 others

2:15 PM: Dharmpal Meshram, Samita Chakole, Manisha Kothe, Bunty Kukde have won

1:45 PM: Wins are in order

1:30 PM: BJP confident of doing well in Maharashtra

1:20 PM: BJP surges ahead in 44 seats, Congress crawls to stay ahead in 14 seats

1:10 PM: Will it have an impact on UP?

12:56 PM: All four BJP candidates from Prabhag 13 – Amar Bagde, Rutika Masram, Parinita Fukey and Varsha Thakre- have won in Nagpur

12:45 PM: BJP takes a strong lead, ahead in 40 seats

12:35 PM: “A BJP footprint across Maharashtra”

12:28 PM: Congress gets into double figures, advances its lead in 10 seats

12:22 PM: BJP advances its lead, goes ahead in 28 seats

12:10 PM: Shiv Sena which is fighting the elections alone after its break up with the BJP is yet to open its account in Nagpur

12:00 PM: Reports suggest that BJP has won 5 seats

11:45 AM: The Congress Party is back in the race, takes lead in 8 seats. But BJP is maintaining its lead in 19 seats.

11:40 AM: Apart from Nagpur, it seems like Pune and Nashik will go to BJP

11:25 AM: BJP is leading in 19 seats, Congress is leading in 4

11:12 AM: BJP leading in 15 seats, Congress in 1

11:10 AM: All four BJP candidates lead in 4 seats in Nagpur’s Muslim-dominated Mominpura in early trends

11:05 AM: The BJP is expected to secure a clear majority Nagpur

11:00 AM: The BJP is leading in 7 seats

10:55 AM: Heavy security is in place at all voting centres

10:50 AM: BJP is leading in 3 seats

10:40 AM: The counting of votes is taking place in 12 places

10:20 AM: Results for the elections in 151 wards will be declared today

10:00 AM: Counting of votes begins