MCD election results 2017 Highlights: Big win for PM Modi's BJP, major embarassment for CM Kejriwal's AAP

MCD results 2017 live, NDMC election results live, SDMC election results live, EDMC election results live, BJP, AAP, Congress, Arvind Kejriwal, Narendra Modi, List of winners of all wards

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to win the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD)! It is way ahead of the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the civic polls. If the exit polls are to be believed, the BJP is way ahead of its competition and set to sweep the election by a landslide, with the AAP and Congress struggling for a distant second spot.

The 270 wards on which counting is being held include: Amar Colony (160), Andrews Ganj (159), Badarpur (203), Bhogal (156), Chitranjan Park (190), Darya Ganj (153), East of Kailash (194), Govindpuri (195), Greater Kailash I (192), Harkesh Nagar (200), Jaipur (201), Kalkaji (196), Kasturaba Nagar (157), Kotla Mubarak Pur (158), Lajpat Nagar (155), Madanpur Khadar (207), Mitha Pur (202), Moladband (204), Nizamuddin (154), Okhla (206), Pul Pehladpur (198), Sangam Vihar Central (187), Sangam Vihar East (188), Sangam Vihar West (186), Sarita Vihar (208), Sriniwaspuri (193), Tekhand (199), Tughlakabad (197), Tuglakabad Extn. (185), Zakir Nagar (205), Ambedkar Nagar (182), Aya Nagar (175), Bhati (176), Chhatarpur (174), Chirag Delhi (189), Dakshinpuri Extn (180), Devli (178), Hauz Khas (164), Khanpur (181), Lado Sarai (169), Madangir (183), Malviya Nagar (161), Mehrauli (170), Munirika (166), Nanakpura (168), Pushp Vihar (184), R K Puram (167), Safdarjung Enclave (163), Said Ul Ajaib (173), Sangam Vihar (177), Shahpou Jat (191), Tigri (179), Vasant Kunj (171), Vasant Vihar (165). ”

Notably, polling in two wards – Sarai Pipal Thala and Maujpur – has been put off till next month after the death of two candidates.

Stay with us for all the live updates:

12:05 PM: Here is the election tally East Delhi: 63/64 so far:
BJP: won 42, leading in 6 (48)
Congress: won 3 (3)
AAP: won 10 (10)

12:02 PM: Here is the election tally South Delhi: 104/104 so far:
BJP: won 58, leading in 12 (70)
Congress: won 11 (11)
AAP: won 14, leading in 3 (14)

12:00 PM: The BJP wins it big. Here is the election tally North Delhi: 103/104 so far:
BJP: won 52, leading in 15 (67)
Congress: won 8, leading in 6 (14)
AAP: won 14, leading in 6 (20)

11:50 AM: Delhi Deputy CM Manish Sisodia: There can be no reason for BJP’s victory in polls, faulty EVMs are to be blamed for our defeat. It is not possible for the BJP to have won this election without tampering EVMs.

11:47 AM: I would like to congratulate the BJP and Manoj Tiwary. But I would like to warn them that the people of Delhi loves immensely and also punish immensely

11:44 AM: Delhi Congress chief Ajay Maken takes responsibility for the party’s loss in Delhi, says will submit his resignation to party president Sonia Gandhi

11:39 AM: Amit Shah also appaluded Manoj Tewary for BJP’s victory in the polls

11:38 AM: People have proved that negative politics will not work in the country and it is only on the basis of development that people will vote: Amit Shah

11:35 AM: BJP has won in Delhi under Narendra Modi’s leadership: Amit Shah

10:45 AM: Nitin Gadkari: Winning and losing is a part of democracy, one must accept mandate of the people with maturity

10:40 AM: Yogendra Yadav: In practice, EVMs are very difficult to be rigged. There is not enough evidence to prove that EVMs have been tampered with. The decision seems to be of the people.

10:35 AM: Sheila Dikshit: We are going through a bad time. BJP was also in a bad shape for a long time. Losing a few elections does not mean Congress can be ruled out

10:30 AM: Former Delhi CM Sheila Dikshit: Congress did not campaign as aggressively as it should have. No one called me to campaign for the party.

10:20 AM: BJP is the only viable option available to the voters today and this is why BJP given mandate at every level. We thank the voters of Delhi: J Singh, Union Minister

10:05 AM: As expected, AAP blames EVMs for its loss in the MCD polls. Gopal Rai says the country will have to work to save itself from the BJP’s politics.

10:00 AM: AAP leader Gopal Rai: AAP will probe what went wrong in the polls. WE will keep working towards securing the rights of the citizens

9:48 AM: As per the official state election commission trends: BJP is leading in 109 wards, AAP is winning in 28, and Congress in 22 wards.

9:42 AM: First results out! BJP wins from Janakpuri West and Janakpuri East

9:40 AM: The AAP candidates are leading in Vinod Nagar, Ballimaran, Paharganj, Kishanganj and Mongolpuri wards.

9:38 AM: BJP is leading in Ghumanhera, Roshanpura, Hauz Khas, Malkaganj, Kadipur Sriram Colony, Geeta Colony and Krishna Nagar wards. Congress was leading in Hari Nagar, Kondli, Bhajanpur and Subhash Nagar wards.

9:30 AM: BJP ahead in 184 seats, Congress 40 seats and AAP 37 seats.

9:15 AM: The BJP will keep the celebrations low key in remembrance of the CRPF men who lost their lives in the recent Sukma Naxal attack.

9:05 AM: Trends in East: 63/63
BJP: 41
Congress: 12
AAP: 7
Others: 3

9:05 AM: Trends in North: 103/103
BJP: 72
Congress: 14
AAP: 15
Others: 2

8:55 AM: Trends in South: 104/104
BJP: 74
Congress: 14
AAP: 15
Others: 1

8:53 AM: Congress upbeat, hopes that the number will increase in their favour

8:47 AM: Trends in the East: 63/63
BJP: 40
Congress: 9
AAP: 13
Others: 1

8:41 AM: Trends in the South: 98/104 wards
BJP: 67
Congress: 19
AAP: 11
Others: 1

8:34 AM: Congress doing relatively well in East and North constituency. From what it looks like, the Muslim voters in the city have voted for the Congress.

8:32 AM: Trends in the North: 100/103 wards
BJP: 62
Congress: 22
AAP: 13
Others: 3

8:30 AM: Congress happy with the trends, says the results show a road to recovery for the party

8:25 AM: BJP storms ahead in 124 seats, Congress in 40 wards

8:15 AM: BJP is way ahead in the polls, is leading in 32 wards as of now

8:08 AM: BJP surging ahead. Of the trends coming in on 29 seats, the party is ahead in 20 seats. The Congress is leading in 4 seats while the AAP is leading in 5 seats

8:00 AM: The result is being seen as a referundum on AAP government in Delhi which has completed two years in power in the national capital

8:00 AM: The counting of votes has begun! The results are likely to be declared by 11 AM today

7:50 AM: We are doing a lot to clean Delhi and the entire country under the leadership of Narendra Modi: Manoj Tewari, BJP Delhi chief

7:45 AM: This morning is very special for us and for the BJP: Manoj Tewari, BJP Delhi chief

7:40 AM: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has repeatedly raised concerns about the reliability of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), alleging that many machines were malfunctioning. The Delhi Congress had also written to Kejriwal, seeking use of ballot papers instead of EVMs in the civic polls.

7: 32 AM: Visuals from outside the counting centre in RK Puram

7: 30 AM: Counting of votes to begin at 8 AM

#In a few hours, early trends will give an idea about who will emerge victorious in these MCD polls.

#As many as two lakh liquor bottles were seized by Delhi Police ahead of the polling. Under the Delhi Prevention of Defacement of Property Act, 2007, 265 cases were registered.

#From door-to-door canvassing to high-decibel rallies, where campaigners resorted to witty and caustic sloganeering by turns, none of the parties left any stone unturned to woo voters. Poster wars played out through banners and hoardings added zing to an already surcharged atmosphere.

#All parties had exuded confidence ahead of the MCD polls, with the BJP, the AAP and the Congress claiming that they will bag over 200 seats.