BMC Elections 2017 Live updates: MNS chief Raj Thackeray addresses rally in Vikhroli, Vile Parle

MNS chief Raj Thackeray has started his campaign for the elections with two rallies in Vikhroli and Vile Parle in Mumbai.

The Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) Elections 2017 will be conducted on February 21. In this election about 2,275 candidates, which include 1,190 males, 1,084 females and one transgender, are in fray for the 227 seats. 13 political parties including Shiv Sena, MNS, NCP, Congress and BJP among others will contest in this civic body polls. The results of the BMC Elections 2017 will be announced on 23 February.

Earlier, during the 2012 civic election, a total of 2,233 candidates had contested the BMC election.

Here are the Live Updates: 

Feb 14, 6:05 PM: Shiv Sena chief said “Chunav se pehle NCP ko ‘Naturally Corrupt Party’ bolte the, baad mein kaha Pawar Sahab ki ungli pakad ke rajneeti mein aaya.”

Feb 14, 6:02 PM: Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray said, “Abhi sikka nahi chalta hai, muhawara badalna padega; Modi ji aur Sharad Pawar ek hi card ke do baaju hain.”

Feb 14, 1:50 PM: The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray will kick start his campaign for the elections with two rallies in Mumbai. He will hold rallies in Vikhroli and Vile Parle today.

Feb, 13, 8:03 PM: The State Election Commission (SEC) barred opinion and exit polls for the 10 municipal corporations and 25 zilla parishads (ZP) in Maharashtra from February 14 to 21.

Feb,13, 8:56 PM: Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu and Nitin Gadkari  address rallies in the city on February 13.