AAP MLA Ved Prakash quits party, joins BJP ahead of MCD elections

Former AAP MLA from Bawana Ved Prakash joined the BJP in the presence of Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari

In what might be a shock to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) just before the elections to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), MLA Ved Prakash Satish on Monday quit the party to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The MLA said he would also resign from the assembly and other government-run bodies. “I am going to give my resignation letter to the Assembly Speaker,” he said.

While resigning from the AAP, the MLA said that the party has “failed” to deliver on the promises it had made in the run-up to the 2015 assembly elections.

The former AAP MLA from Bawana joined the BJP in the presence of Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari. The move is seen as a shot in the arm for the BJP ahead of the civic polls in the national capital in April.

“I was feeling suffocated in the AAP. They (AAP) have failed to deliver on the promises which they had made during assembly elections. There are around 35 MLAs in the AAP who are not happy with the party leadership,” Ved Prakash said. He also added that no work has been done by the AAP government in the last two years.

He stated that there was discontent among people over the AAP government’s failure to address their grievances.

He also claimed that the AAP has a list of rebel MLAs which includes Devinder Sehrawat, Pankaj Pushkar and former minister Sandeep Kumar.”