Delhi civic polls: Voting to take place on April 22, result on April 25

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is in power in all the three municipal corporations

The Election Commission of India has announced April 22 as the date of voting for Delhi Municipal Corporation elections. The counting of the votes will take place on April 25. Model code of conduct has become effective from Tuesday onwards and despite Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal’s request for use of ballot papers in the elections, the poll body  would continue with Electronic Voting Machines (EVM).

In terms of MCD, Delhi is divided into three regions- east, north and south Delhi. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is in power in all the three municipal corporations. In last civic Polls, BJP overwhelmingly defeated Congress but this time the saffron party would face a major rival in Aam Aadmi Party that stormed to power in 2015. Meanwhile, BJP has decided to not field any sitting candidate what is seen as an attempt by the party to beat anti-incumbency factor.

“Following a meeting with senior party leadership, it has been decided that no incumbent councillor will be given party ticket irrespective of their track record,” Delhi BJP chief said.

Meanwhile, Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party convener Arvind Kejriwal has written to Election Commission of India urging the poll body to not use Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) for Delhi Municipal Polls.

Kejriwal’s letter to EC comes two days after Bahujan Samaj Party supremo Mayawati allegations that EVMs were tampered in favour of BJP and demanded fresh voting with ballot papers.