Anil Dave, Union Environment Minister, dies; PM Narendra Modi calls it a 'personal loss'

Expressing grief over Anil Dave's death Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that he was shocked at the minister's sudden demise

Anil Dave, Environment Minister in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led government at the centre, passed away at the age of 60 on May 18. The exact cause of death has not been ascertained as yet. However, initial reports suggest that Anil Dave died after he suffered a heart attack. Anil Dave breathed his last in Delhi’s All India Institute Of Medical Science (AIIMS).

Expressing grief over Anil Dave’s death, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that he was absolutely shocked at the minister’s sudden demise. The Prime Minister even stated that he was with Anil Dave till late last evening.

“Absolutely shocked by the sudden demise of my friend & a very respected colleague, Environment Minister Anil Madhav Dave ji. My condolences. Anil Madhav Dave ji will be remembered as a devoted public servant. He was tremendously passionate towards conserving the environment. I was with Anil Madhav Dave ji till late last evening, discussing key policy issues. This demise is a personal loss,” PM Narendra Modi tweeted.

Anil Dave is known for his major contribution in the project designed for the conservation of the river Narmada. He is also the founder of ‘Narmada Samagra’ which makes efforts to conserve the Narmada river and its catchment area through various events and other activities. Born in Barnagar area of Ujjain district, Anil Dave is a Rajya Sabha MP representing Madhya Pradesh.

Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu also asserted that saddened to hear about the sudden demise of the minister.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari also took to Twitter to condole Anil Dave’s death.

One of the oldest members of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) , Anil Dave has held several important positions including Member, Standing Committee on Environment and Forest and Science & Technology; Member, Standing Committee of Water Resources, Member (Board of Governors) of Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan.