All five Indian Mujahideen members sentenced to death in Hyderabad blast case

NIA's special court sentences all five IM members to death in the 2013 Hyderabad blast case

National Investigation Agency’s special court is out with the final verdict in Hyderabad twin blast case. The court has found all five Indian Mujahideen members including group’s co-founder Yasin Bhatkal guilty and has sentenced them to death.

The incident took place on February 21, 2013 in Dilsukhnagar killing seventeen people. There were two blasts that took place on this date, first one at a bus-stop and the second one in the shopping arena. The convicts include IM co-founder Yasin Bhatkal, Pakistani national Zia-ur-Rehman , Asadullah Akhtar, Tahaseen Akhtar and Aijaz Sheikh who were found guilty by NIA court on December 13. Another IM co-founder Riyaz Bhatkal is absconding and hence the punishment for this sixth member has not yet been announced, though he has also been framed under the charges.

The accused were subjected under the Explosives Substances Act, Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act and relevant sections of the Indian Penal Code.

The IM members were alleged to have received financial help from the Pakistani’s inter-service Intelligence.