Yogi Adityanath Swearing-in Highlights: BJP leader sworn in as new Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh

Yogi Adityanath is all set to take charge as Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister. He will take oath in presence of PM Narendra Modi. Here are the live updates

Yogi Adityanath took oath as the new chief minister of Uttar Pradesh in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah, For UP CM Akhilesh Yadav and Samajwadi Party supremo, Mulayam Singh Yadav also attended the swearing-in ceremony that took place in Lucknow today.

In a surprising move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on March 19 named Yogi Adityanath as the CM designate for Uttar Pradesh. The decision to appoint the Gorakhpur MP as the leader of the legislature party was taken during a crucial meet of BJP MLAs in Lucknow. Additionally, Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma have been appointed as the deputy Chief Ministers of the state.

After the BJP’s historic win in UP, the announcement for the coveted post of state Chief Minister was much awaited. The party is back in the state after 15 long years by winning 312 seats in the recently held assembly elections.

Here are the key highlights:

3: 45 PM: The swearing-in ceremony concludes.

3: 40 PM: The lone Muslim face in Yogi Adityanath government, Former cricketer Mohsin Raza sworn in as Minister of State.

3: 30 PM: Yogi Adityanath supporters celebrate outside Gorakhnath temple.

3: 18 PM: Anil Rajbhar, Swati Singh take oath as Ministers of State (Independent) in Uttar Pradesh Government.

3: 10 PM: Suresh Rana, Upendra Tiwari & Mahendra Singh take oath as Ministers of State (Independent) in Uttar Pradesh Government.

3: 05 PM: Anupama Jaiswal sworn in as Minister of State (Independent) in Uttar Pradesh Government, oath administered by Governor Ram Naik.

3: 00 PM: Siddharth Nath Singh, Mukut Bihari Verma and Ashutosh Tandon sworn in as Cabinet Ministers in the Uttar Pradesh Government.

2: 49 PM: Om Prakash Rajbhar, Brajesh Pathak and Laxmi Narayan Chaudhary take oath as cabinet ministers

2: 40 PM: Satyadev Pachauri, Ramapati Shastri & Jay Pratap Singh take oath as cabinet ministers.

2:35 PM: Dara Singh Chauhan, Dharmpal Singh, S P Singh Baghel take oath as cabinet ministers of the state in presence of the governor and PM Narendra Modi.

2: 29 PM: Cabinet ministers including Swami Prasad Maurya, Surya Pratap Shahi and Suresh Khanna take oath in Lucknow.


2: 24 PM: Dinesh Sharma takes oath as Deputy chief minister of the state.

2:23 PM: Keshav Prasad Maurya takes oath as Deputy Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

2: 15 PM: Yogi Adityanath takes oath as the new chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. He is the 21st Chief minister of the state.

2:14 PM: PM Narendra Modi arrives at the venue along with Governor of UP Ram Naik.

2:09 PM: Top leaders including Amit Shah, Vankaiah Naidu, Uma Bharti are present at the swearing-in ceremony that is set to begin shortly. Watch:

2:04 PM: PM Narendra Modi arrive in Lucknow to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

2:01 PM: Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav reaches Lucknow to attend the oath taking ceremony.

1:58 PM: Prime Minister Narendra Modi to arrive shortly to attend the swearing in ceremony.

1: 53 PM: Former UP CM Akhilesh Yadav arrives at Lucknow to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Yogi Adityanath.



1:36 PM: On being asked if the minorities were safe under the leadership of Yogi Adityanath, Murli Manohar Joshi asserted that there was nothing to worry about.

1: 30 PM: Yogi Adityanath’s sister says the family celebrated by bursting crackers after the official announcement was made.

1: 20 PM: Yogi Adityanath’s father express happiness over his son becoming UP CM.

1: 15 PM: Venkaiah Naidu has backed BJP’s decision to name Yogi Adityanath as CM designate and have affirmed that he is an honest man.

1: 10 PM: Yogi Adityanath’s supporters celebrate as he is all set to take charge as the new UP CM.

1: 05 PM: After swearing in, Yogi Adityanath will take charge as CM in Lok Bhawan, followed by a meeting with ministers.Will address press conference thereafter at 5 PM.

1: 02 PM: Union Minister Uma Bharti expressed delight have expressed delight over the development and have affirmed that Yogi Adityanath would contribute in a major way towards the development of the state. She further said that Yogi being the Chief Minister of  UP was a tight slap for the leftists.

1: 00 PM: The swearing in ceremony is scheduled to take place at 2: 15 PM.