Uttar Pradesh assembly elections 2017 phase 7: Polling ends, 60% turnout recorded till 5 pm

Uttar Pradesh, UP assembly elections 2017, UP elections 2017, Uttar Pradesh phase 7 Live Updates, BJP, Congress, Samajwadi Party

Sixty per cent of voters cast their ballot in the seventh and last phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh till 5 p.m. on Wednesday. Prominent candidates who were in the fray include former Cabinet minister Om Prakash, Parasnath Yadav, Ajay Rai, former MP Dhananjay Singh, Sigbatullah Ansari brother of Mukhtar Ansari and Seema Singh wife of jailed mafia Munna Bajrangi.

A total of 1.41 crore voters, including 64.76 lakh women, were eligible to exercise their franchise in 14,458 polling booths and 8,682 polling centres to decide the fate of 585 candidates, including 51 women.

Along with five Assembly segments under Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency, three Naxal-affected districts of Sonbhadra, Mirzapur and Chandauli were also in the prime focus. Ghazipur, Jaunpur and Bhadoi were the other districts where polling was underway.

Counting of votes of all the seven phases of the Assembly polls will be held on March 11.

Here are the highlights from phase 7 of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2017

5:22 PM: Last phase of polling ends on March 8.

4:12 PM: 51.69% voting recorded till 3 pm

2:30 PM: Jaunpur – Jafarabad’s BJP candidate Harendra Pratap Singh was arrested with four others for allegedly carrying voters to polling booths in two vehicles. However, Harendra Singh has denied the charges.

2:23 PM: Over 41 per cent voter turnout recorded till 2 pm in the seventh and last phase of Uttar Pradesh elections.

12:26 PM: Farmers in Mirzapur boycott voting at polling booth number 283 of Chunar assembly segment alleging lack of irrigation facilities & development

12:16 PM: RSS’s Indresh Kumar casts his vote at polling booth number 49 of Varanasi Cantt

UP Elections

11:59 AM: Voter turnout of 22.84% recorded till 11 am

10:36 AM: Special arrangement for the women voters in Aurai

10:35 AM: BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi casts his vote

10:15 AM: 65-year old woman dies before casting her vote at polling booth number 357 of Mughalsarai assembly constituency

9:56 AM: 10.43% voting recorded till 9 am

9:40 AM: Apna Dal leader & Union Minister Anupriya Patel casts her vote at polling booth no. 335 of Mirzapur, says “we will win all 40 seats”.

8:50 AM: Congress leader Ajai Rai casts his vote at polling booth no. 389 of Varanasi South, says “7th phase is going to vote against ‘Jumlebaazi'”

8:00 AM: Voting in all 40 seats begins

## Tight security has been put in place in these seven districts.

## Polling will be held between 7 AM to 5 PM in all constituencies, except the Naxal-hit Duddhi, Robertsganj and Chakia seats, where polling will end at 4 PM.

## The BJP is contesting 32 seats and its allies – the Apna Dal and the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party – are contesting on 4 seats each.

## The BSP has fielded its nominees for all seats. While the SP is contesting 31 seats, its ally the Congress is in the race for the remaining seats.