Noida Constituency Results 2017: Rajnath Singh's son Pankaj wins Noida by over a lakh votes

Rajnath Singh son Pankaj Singh is contesting on a BJP ticket from Noida

3: 35 PM: BJP’s Pankaj Singh wins Noida by over a lakh votes.

2:29 PM: BJP’s Pankaj Singh is now leading in Noida by over a lakh votes.

1:57 PM: Pankaj Singh leads SP’s Sunil Chaudhary by 91,594 votes now. Noida will be called soon!

1:04 PM – According to latest EC updates, Pankaj Singh is now leading in the Noida seat by over 77,000 votes.

10:46 AM- Pankaj Singh now leading in Noida by over 23,000 votes. It looks like it is safe to call Noida for the BJP now.

10:10 AM – Pankaj Singh leading by over 11,000 votes, inches closer to an assembly seat

10:00 AM – BJP’s Pankaj Singh leading over the SP candidate

Noida assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh falls under the Gautam Buddha Nagar Lok Sabha constituency. Voting in Noida was held in the first phase of polling on February 11. Noida which is constituency number 61 of the Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly has a total of 4,28,259 registered voters.

The biggest face which is drawing attention in this face is that of Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Pankaj Singh who is the son of Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh. Pankaj being named as the candidate for Noida drew a lot of criticism from the opposition for having “double standards”. The opposition stated that the BJP has been promoting dynasty politics, something that it has always been attacking Congress and other parties for.

However, it’s not that Pankaj is a new addition by the BJP for the Uttar Pradesh polls. He has been involved in active politics since 2002. He is a famous name, especially among the youth in Uttar Pradesh. He wanted to contest Lok Sabha elections in 2014 too but was not given a seat by the BJP then.

Apart from Noida, the Gautam Buddha Nagar Lok Sabha constituency comprises of four other Vidhan Sabha seats, namely: Dadri, Jewar, Sikandrabad, Bulandshahr, Khurja.

Apart from the BJP, Ashok Chauhan is contesting from Samajwadi Party (SP) and Ravikant Mishra is contesting from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Many smaller parties and independents are also trying their luck in the elections. These include Kishore Singh of Bharatiya Democratic Socialist Alliance Party, Vikram Singh of Bharatiya Subhash Sena, Ripen Haldar of Bhartiya Bhaichara Party among others.