Assembly Elections 2017: Uttar Pradesh records 65 pc turnout, Uttarakhand registers 68 pc

Polling held for 67 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh and 69 assembly seats in Uttarakhand.

Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand witnessed a voter turnout of  65% votes and 68%  respectively as the polling in both the states commenced on February 15. Polling held for 67 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh and 69 assembly seats in Uttarakhand.

There were 14,771 polling centres and 23,693 polling stations were set up in the districts of Pilibhit, Moradabad, Saharanpur, Kheri, Bijnor, Rampur, Bareilly, Amroha, Sambhal , Shahjahanpur and Badaun, there were proper security arrangements on each polling station in order to ensure peaceful polling, said election officials.

This poll in UP will also decide the fate of Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan and his son Abdullah Azam, who are contesting from Rampur and Suar-Tanda respectively.

For the first time voter verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines were used in elections in Uttarakhand. The state has 70 constituencies but due to death of BSP candidate Kuldeep Singh Kanwasi, polling will be held in Karnaprayag on March 9.

Both Prime Minster Narendra Modi and Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi have run an extensive campaign in the hill state trying to woo voters.The counting of the votes will be held on March 11. In the previous election in 2012, none of the parties won majority but the Indian National Congress formed government with the help of PDF in the leadership of Vijay Bahuguna.

While campaigning in UP PM Modi promised of waiving loans of small and marginal farmers and paying the dues of sugarcane growers within 14 days of coming to power. Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi and BSP chief Mayawati have campaigned for this phase of polls. On January 22, the Samajwadi Party and the Congress formally announced their alliance.