Amethi Constituency Results 2017: BJP wins its first seat in Rahul Gandhi's Amethi; Dal Bahadur defeats Congress' Suresh Chaudhary in Salon

Rahul Gandhi's Congress is in alliance with SP.

3:06 PM- BJP’s Dal Bahadur has just defeated his nearest rival from Congress, Suresh Chaudhary, in Salon. The seat was previously held by Samajwadi Party. The BJP has finally made inroads in the Gandhi family bastion!

2:25 PM – Congress heading toward decimation in Amethi !

2:04 PM- Congress’ Radhey Shyam trailing in Jagdishpur to BJP’s Suresh Kumar by over 10,000 votes. BJP’s Mayankeshwar Singh leading in Tiloi by more than 27,000 votes.

12:25 PM – Rahul Gandhi should retire from politics, historian Ramachandra Guha says again. The comments come as BJP’s Garima Singh inches towards a historic win in Amethi, which is seen as a political bastion of Congress. Beside being held by both Rahul and Sonia Gandhi in Lok Sabha, the seat has also been represented by former PM Rajiv Gandhi.

12: 10 PM – Is Amethi no longer a Congress stronghold? This Twitter user seems to think so,

11:36 AM – BJP’s Garima Singh inches towards a historic victory in Amethi, which has historically been a Congress party-stronghold.

10:50 AM- The gap widens as BJP’s Garima Singh leads by more than 4000 votes

10: 26 AM – BJP’s Garima Singh now takes lead. She is leading Prajapati by over 500 votes now.

10: 17 AM- BJP’s Garima Singh trailing Prajapati by just a 100 votes, Congress’ candidate nowhere near victory

9:35 AM- Controversial SP leader Gayatri Prajapati is leading from Amethi assembly seat

Amethi has remained a Congress stronghold for most part of Uttar Pradesh’s electoral history. The Lok Sabha seat has been held by Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi since 2004, before that represented by his mother and Congress president Sonia Gandhi. Previously, Amethi had also been held by former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

The BJP has been trying to make political inroads in Amethi. BJP’s candidate and current textiles minister Smriti Irani aggressively campaigned in a bid to dislodge Gandhi in the run-up to 2014 national elections, but the Congress vice-president managed to retain the seat.

A lot is at stake for Congress’ prestige in Amethi, which has five assembly seats in the state assembly.



BSP – Ram Ji

BJP – Garima Singh

INC – Ameeta Singh

SP- Gayatri Prajapati


BSP – Mohd. Saood

BJP – Mayankeshwar Sharan Singh

INC – Vinod Kumar Mishra


BSP – Braj Lal Pasi

BJP – Dal Bahadur

INC- Suresh Chaudhary


BSP – Jagdutt

BJP – Suresh Kumar

INC – Radhey Shyam


BSP – Vijay Kishor Tiwari

BJP – Uma Shankar Pandey

INC – Mohammad Nayeem