Manipur elections 2017 exit polls: BJP to rule, predicts Times Now; Congress may return says India Today

The 2017 elections in Manipur are being touted as the toughest one for CM Okhram Ibobi Singh

On March 9, in an exit poll survey done by Times Now-VMR, it found BJP leading with 25-31 seats in Manipur, whereas Congress getting 17-23 seats.

However, as per the India Today-Axis My India poll predicted that 30-36 seats are going to Congress in the state and CM Ibobi Singh is expected to return for the fourth term

Manipur went for polls in two phases that ended on March 8 an overall voting of 86 % was recorded in the 60-member House. The result of the Manipur elections is to be announced on March 11.

The 2017 elections in Manipur are being touted as the toughest one for Chief Minister Okhram Ibobi Singh, however, CM said that he is confident of winning 2017 polls. Also, this is for the first time that Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) is also been able to make its presence felt in this northeastern state.

India Today: Congress (30-36), BJP (16-22), Others(8-12)
India TV: Congress (17-23), BJP (25-31), Others(9-15)
Times Now: Congress (17-23), BJP (25-31), Others(9-15)
NDTV: Congress (20), BJP (28), Others (12)

With the 2017 Manipur elections, Human right activist Irom Sharmila made a debut in politics. Sharmila who fought for the removal of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act for over 16 years, launched her party People’s Resurgence Justice Alliance (PRJA).

Large number of young voters turned up to cast their votes for the elections in the state. The term of the current Legislative Assembly is ending on 18 March 2017.