Manipur Assembly Elections 2017 Phase 2: 86% voter turnout recorded, the highest since 2009

Polling has begun on 22 seats for second phase of assembly elections in Manipur

Around 86 percent voter turnout recorded, the highest since 2009, till 5 pm as the second phase of Assembly elections in Manipur ended peacefully. As many as 98 candidates were in the fray for 22 constituencies in districts of Thoubal and the hill districts of Ukhrul, Chandel, Tamenglong and Senapati in the poll-bound north-eastern state. The Election Commission had set up 1151 polling stations for the purpose.

The second phase is also crucial as human right activist Irom Sharmila- also known as iron lady of Manipur- is contesting against Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh in Thoubal. Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair conduct of the elections. In the first phase, all political parties in their campaigns focused on the continuing economic blockade by the United Naga Council and the state government’s inability to lift it.

Manipur Governor Nazma Heptulla on Tuesday appealed to the voters to show “their constitutional responsibility” to make the north-eastern state “the first state in the country with the highest number of voter turnout.”

Here are the highlights

3:00 PM:  Polling ends in Manipur

2: 35 PM: Voter turnout of 78% recorded till 2 pm

1: 30 PM: Voter turnout of 67% recorded till 1 pm

11:23 AM: 45% Voter turnout recorded till 11 AM in the final phase of Manipur elections.

10: 00 AM: 21% voter turnout recorded till 9 AM in the final phase of Manipur elections.

8: 10 AM: first time voters cast their vote. Notedly, There are around 45,642 new voters this time.

7: 55 AM:

7: 48 AM:

7:45 AM:

7:30 AM: Manipur CM Okram Ibobi Singh casts his vote