Manipur Assembly Elections 2017 Phase 1 Live updates: Polling ends, 69% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm

Voting for 38 seats in first phase of assembly elections has begun in Manipur, the poll marks the debut of Irom Sharmila

Polling has ended on 38 seats in the first phase of assembly elections in Manipur. The second phase of polling is scheduled to be held on March 8  that will cover remaining 22 seats in the state. 69 per cent polling was reported amid tight security from most of the 38 assembly constituencies in Manipur that voted on Saturday, an official said at 1 p.m.

Heavy security was in place to ensure peaceful conduction of polls in  1,643 stations spreading across Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur and the hill districts of Churachandpur and Kangpokpi. As many as 168 candidates were in fray, their fate has been decided by 11 lakh voters. People across the country are keenly following the polls in the north-eastern region as separatist leader Irom Sharmila has made a debut with People’s Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA) party. Manipur has 5,44,050 male and 5,75,220 female voters for the first phase polling.

Here are the live updates

3:12 pm Polling time for the first phase ends

1:13 pm Irom Sharmila’s PRJA candidate Erendro attacked by unknown persons

11:20 am 43% voting recorded till 11 am in the first phase.

10: 45 am 21% voting recorded till 9 am in the first phase

10:10 am Irom Sharmila cast his vote

9: 00 am Special arrangements in place for differently-abled voters

8: 45 am 10% voter turnout recorded in the first hour of the Manipur first phase elections.

8:30 am First-time voter shows her inked finger after casting vote at a polling booth in Manipur’s Bishnupur. Interestingly, female voters exceed male voters in the first phase of elections. Manipur has 5,44,050 male and 5,75,220 female voters for the first phase polling.

7:50 am PM Narendra Modi appeals the Manipur voters to exercise their franchise