Manohar Parrikar sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa for the fourth time

Manohar Parrikar was sworn in as the chief minister of Goa after Supreme Court refused to put a stay on the swearing in ceremony

Amid the ongoing political tussle post the assembly election results, Manohar Parrikar, who resigned as the defence minister was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa on March 14. Eight ministers took oath along with the Chief Minister.

Earlier today, the Supreme Court refused to stay Parrikar’s ceremony while slamming Congress party for not staking claim to form a government in the state. The apex court has further asked BJP to prove its majority within a span of two days. Congress claimed that they should be invited to form a government because it has emerged as the single largest party in the February 4 elections with 17 MLAs.

President Pranab Mukherjee accepted Parrikar’s decision and announced that Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will take charge of the defence ministry in addition to his existing portfolios. Meanwhile, the Governor has invited BJP to form the government under the leadership of Manohar Parrikar. Additionally, Congress has accused BJP of stealing people’s mandate in the state.

Goa Forward party and other local parties who won 3 seats each in the assembly elections asserted that they would support BJP if Manohar Parrikar returns as CM. Manohar Parrikar had also addressed a press conference and announced that he had met the governor and said, “This is a mandate given by the people, though we fell short of majority. Together we have completed the magic figure of 21.” Congress had secured 17 seats and BJP finished second with 13 seats in the Goa assembly elections.