Assembly election results 2017: BJP credits Narendra Modi for victory in Uttar Pradesh

BJP has hailed Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Amit Shah's relentless effort for victory in UP

The BJP is set to take power in Uttar Pradesh and the credit for this goes to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party spokesperson Sambit Patra said on Saturday. “The victory goes to Modi for his hard work, for his vision, for his pro-poor agenda,” Patra told IndiaToday TV.

“He is the first Prime Minister in contemporary times who really worked for the poor. The tangible benefits that the poor got because of Modi is what has transpired this eleection in the way we are seeing,” he said. He also gave due credit to BJP President Amit Shah.  “His strategy was absolute micro management at every booth level and he maintained right from the beginning that we will be coming to power with a two-third majority (in Uttar Pradesh).”

As per the latest trends, BJP is leading at 293 seats in Uttar Pradesh, while SP-Congress alliance and BSP are leading on 82 seats and 19 seats respectively.  The saffron party is also doing exceptionally well in Uttarakhand.  As per the latest trends,  BJP is leading on 54 seats while Congress is leading on 12 seats only.