Wasim Jaffer: 39-year-old former Indian opener has 100% win record in Ranji Trophy. Here are the stats

The recent victory of Vidarbha against Delhi was the ninth time that Wasim Jaffer was a part of the winning side in Ranji Trophy

The moment Indian veteran batsman Wasim Jaffer left his ‘home team’ — Mumbai after 19 long seasons, it was a complete stunner for domestic cricket in India. After experiencing eight Ranji victories under one of the best sides, Jaffer’s move to join Vidarbha was assumed as a downfall in his career. However, he turned out to be the lucky charm for Vidarbha as they entered the finals for the first time in the history of Ranji Trophy and tasted their first-ever triumph.

Vidarbha beat the 7-time Ranji champion Delhi by 9 wickets to win their maiden title. With this victory, Jaffer maintains a 100 percent record of winning all the ten finals he has featured in. He made his debut in the year 1996/97 after which Mumbai went on to win 8 titles with Jaffer as one of the players in the Playing XI.

ALSO READ: 3 takeaways from Virat Kohli’s statement ahead of 1st Test against South Africa!

Here’s the list of Mumbai’s next 8 title victories:

1999/00 against Hyderabad,

2002/03 and 2003/04 against Tamil Nadu,

2006/07 against Bengal,

2008/09 against Uttar Pradesh,

2009/10 against Karnataka,

2012/13 and 2015/16 against Saurashtra.

The recent victory of Vidarbha against Delhi was the ninth time that he was a part of the winning side. Despite being one of the oldest cricketers in the domestic circuit, the 39-year-old batsman has created a number of invincible records till date.

ALSO READ: Mithali Raj stuns Shah Rukh Khan on being asked to coach Indian men’s team!

Highest run-scorer in Ranji Trophy:

Sl No. Runs Batsman Teams Career Span
1 Wasim Jaffer 10,665 Vidarbha, Bombay/Mumbai 1996/97 – Present
2 Amol Mazumdar 9202 Bombay/Mumbai, Assam, Andhra Pradesh 1993/94 – 2013/14
3 Devendra Bundela 9168 Madhya Pradesh 1995/96 – Present
4 Mithun Manhas 8554 Delhi, J & K 1997/98 – 2016/17
5 Hrishikesh Kanitkar 8059 Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan 1994/95 – 2013/14


Most career centuries:

Sl No. Centuries Batsman Teams Career Span
1 36 Wasim Jaffer Bombay/Mumbai, Vidarbha 1996/97 – Present
2 31 Ajay Sharma Delhi, Himachal Pradesh 1984/85 – 2000/01
3 28 Hrishikesh Kanitkar Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan 1994/95 – 2013/14
4 28 Amol Mazumdar Bombay/Mumbai, Assam, Andhra Pradesh 1993/94 – 2013/14
5 27 Amarjeet Kaypee Punjab, Haryana 1980/81 – 1999/00


ALSO READ: Vidarbha’s Rajneesh Gurbani becomes 2nd bowler to pick hat-trick in Ranji Trophy finals

Fifth batsman to score most runs in a season:

Sl No Runs Batsman Team Season
1 1415 VVS Laxman Hyderabad 1999/00
2 1321 Shreyas Iyer Mumbai 2015/16
3 1310 Priyank Panchal Gujarat 2016/17
4 1280 Vijay Bharadwaj Karnataka 1998/99
5 1260 Wasim Jaffer Mumbai 2008/09


Being the only player to score more than 10,000 runs in Ranji Trophies, Wasim Jaffer is expected to continue his domestic career for much longer. In the final against Delhi, he stepped in to bat at number 3 after Vidarbha lost its first wicket at 96. He went on score 78 runs off 150 balls and 11 four. He also raised a 73-run stand for the fourth wicket with Akshay Wadkar who went on to play a magnificent inning of 133 runs off 262 balls.

ALSO READ: 3 reasons why Indian bowlers will struggle in South Africa

Vidarbha became the seventh team to win the Ranji Trophy in their maiden final after Mumbai (1934/35), Nawanagar (now Saurashtra/1936-37), Hyderabad (1937/38), Maharashtra (1939/40), Baroda (1942/43) and Western India (1943/44).