South Africa announces T20 squad against India, 3 new faces; Imran Tahir, Amla rested

Regular captain Faf du Plessis has been ruled of the series due to the injury

Cricket South Africa on February 13 announced T20 squad for the three-match series starting February 18 at Johannesburg. JP Duminy has been named captain while Warriors batsman Christiaan Jonker, Multiply Titans’ fast bowler Junior Dala and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen got the debut call.

Faf du Plessis has been ruled of the series due to an injury he suffered during the ODI series. Imran Tahir, one of the best spinners in recent times, also failed to make it to the squad. Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso, however, managed to find their place in the 14-member squad.

“With the Sunfoil Test Series against Australia starting only 5 days after the completion of the T20 Series, it is necessary for us to rest some of the players who have featured in virtually all our international matches so far this summer,” CSA National Selection Panel Convener, Linda Zondi, was quoted as saying by CSA website.

“These include Hashim Amla and Aiden Markram among the batsmen as well as most of our frontline fast bowlers. AB de Villiers has missed quite a lot of cricket this summer so he will play in the T20 Series,” the website reported.

“We have also decided to give Imran Tahir a break. He remains our first-choice spin bowler in both white ball formats,” explained Zondi, “but we need to give more game time to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso. The next ICC World Twenty20 is not all that far away in 2020, so it is important that we develop and examine our resources for that tournament.”


JP Duminy (Captain), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.


South Africa vs India, 1st T20I at Johannesburg, February 18.

South Africa vs India, 2nd T20I at Centurion, February 21.

South Africa vs India, 3rd T20I, Cape Town, February 24.