Paul Collingwood becomes the oldest cricketer to score a T20 ton. 2 Asians in the top 5 list

Except for England's Paul Collingwood and Graeme Hick, no other batsman in the world scored a century in T20s after stepping into his 40s

Former England skipper Paul Collingwood has become the oldest cricketer to score a century in the T20 circuit. This 41-year-old  English cricketer reached this feat while playing for his county team Durham in a NatWest T20 Blast match against Worcestershire at Worcester. Paul’s previous best score in T20s was 79 which he scored back in 2007 in a T20I against West Indies. This ton is the first ever century for Durham in T20 cricket. Earlier, Graham Clarke and Phil Mustard had scored 91 (highest runs scored by any Durham batsman) against Yorkshire in 2013 and 2015 respectively.

Collingwood smashed 10 fours and 4 sixes and ended up scoring 108 runs off 60 balls and remained not out. His magnificent hundred helped his team put up a giant total of 201 runs on the scoreboard. However, the Durham remained on the losing side as Worcestershire chased down the 202-run target in just 18.1 overs after losing only 2 wickets.

In 2011, Paul bid adieu to International cricket but continued playing county cricket for the Durham team. His 108-runs knock made him the oldest cricketer to score a century in T20s and surpassed former England player Graeme Hick who scored 110 for Worcestershire in 2007. Paul was 41 years 65 days when he scored his first T20 century while Hick was aged 41 years and 37 days. No other batsman in the world has achieved this feat in T20s after stepping into his 40s.

Besides Collingwood and Graeme Hick there is Sri Lankan veteran batsman Mahela Jayawardene who scored a T20 century when was 39 years and 208 days old. Former Sri Lanka skipper Sanath Jaysuriya and Aussie wicket-keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist are also on the list.

Sl No Age Player Runs Balls Team Opposition Match Date
1 41y 65d Paul Collingwood 108* 60 Durham Worcestershire 30-Jul-2017
2 41y 37d Graeme Hick 110 49 Worcestershire Northamptonshire 29-Jun-2007
3 39y 208d Mahela Jayawardene 116 56 Central Districts Otago 21-December-2016
4 39y 184d Adam Gilchrist 106 55 KXIP RCB 17-May-2011
5 38y 319d Sanath Jayasuriya 114* 48 MI CSK 14-May-2008