MS Dhoni makes a rare mistake, opts not to take DRS despite ball hitting the stumps in replays — WATCH

If Dhoni would have opted for DRS, the third umpire most probably would have overturned the on-field umpire's decision

MS Dhoni is usually spot-on with the DRS (Decision Review System), but even the best can sometimes get it wrong. DRS has somehow become an acronym to Dhoni Review System, which just goes to show how good he is with taking the reviews. But in the 3rd ODI against Sri Lanka, when Kuldeep Yadav was the bowler, Dhoni kind of missed out. The batsman in question was Sadeera Samarawickrama and the incident took place in the all-important decider at Vizag.

ALSO READ: MS Dhoni proves he’s master of DRS, saves Jasprit Bumrah against Sri Lanka – Watch video

So, here is what transpired:

Sri Lanka was 83 for 1 after 13.4 overs, Kuldeep Yadav was bowling to Samarawickrama. It was a ball that dragged Samarawickrama to come and play on the front foot. He defended and missed after which there was an instant appeal. The umpire turned down the appeal. There was a long chat between Rohit Sharma — at first slip — and MS Dhoni, the wicketkeeper. But it seemed Dhoni was unsighted and that is why Rohit did not opt for the review. But replays showed that the ball was clipping more than 50 percent of the top of leg stump.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli vs Steven Smith: Michael Vaughan’s tweet has made way for a new debate!

In such a case, if Dhoni would have opted for DRS, the third umpire most probably would have overturned the on-field umpire’s decision and declared Samarawickrama out.


Sadeera departed soon after getting a lifeline for 43. He truly could not cash in on the big let off.

ALSO READ: Live, India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI, Live Cricket Score: Dickwella falls, Kuldeep strikes twice!

As we speak, Sri Lanka has put on a strong foundation for a big score. They are 168 for 4 after 28 overs. Tharanga missed out on what would have been a memorable century; he went for 94 to an MS Dhoni stumping.