IPL 2018, KKR vs SRH: This Bowling Record of Piyush Chawla Is The Reason Behind His Rs 4.2 Crore Price Tag

IPL 2018 KKR vs SRH: Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad have met 12 times in total with the former leading the head-to-head tally 8-4

Since its inception in 2008, the Indian Premier League (IPL) tournament has had several records been made and broken supplemented by amazing stats. One such stat is of India’s leg-break bowler Piyush Chawla who is considered among the most efficient bowlers in the IPL history.

Chawla, who began his IPL career with Kings XI Punjab in 2008, had not bowled a no-ball until the 2016 season of India’s own T20 league.

The first no-ball of the leg-spinner came after bowling almost 386 overs in his IPL career. For 8 years of the T20 tournament, Chawla bowled in the most disciplined manner.

He bowled his first no-ball in the IPL while playing against Delhi Daredevils.

After having played 129 matches so far, Chawla is at Number 4 on the list of ‘Most Wickets’ by a bowler in the IPL (till 2017) with 128 wickets in his kitty. Lasith Malinga is leading the list, having taken 154 wickets followed by Amit Mishra (134) and Harbhajan Singh (127).

During the IPL 2018 player’s auctions, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) showed great trust in Chawla and used their ‘Right to Match’ card for the leggie. They bought him for Rs 4.2 Crore.

Chawla needs 27 wickets more to become the leading wicket-taker in the IPL.

Meanwhile, KKR will look to get back to the winning ways when they take on in-form SRH in an IPL 2018 game at the Eden Gardens on April 14.

KKR and SRH have met 12 times in total with the former leading the head-to-head tally 8-4.


SRH: Kane Williamson (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rashid Khan Arman, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Sandeep Sharma, Shakib Al Hasan, Carlos Brathwaite, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi Eisakhil, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Billy Stanlake, Siddharth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Shreevats Goswami, Basil Thampi, T. Natarajan, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Ricky Bhui, Sachin Baby, Tanmay Agarwal.

KKR: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Dinesh Karthik (Captain & wicket-keeper), Robin Uthappa, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Nitish Rana, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, Vinay Kumar, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javon Searless, Apoorv Wankhade, Ishank Jaggi, Tom Curran.