IPL 2018, CSK vs KKR, Match 5: Harsha Bhogle Reveals Why The Toss Was Delayed At Chepauk

IPL 2018, CSK vs KKR: Chennai Super Kings are playing at home after serving a two-year ban that was imposed on them due to the spot-fixing scandal

Match No 5 of the IPL 2018 season between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) began amidst tight security at MA Chidambaram Stadium — popularly known as Chepauk Stadium — in Chennai.

Ahead of the high-voltage clash, people demanding to set up a Cauvery Management Board took to the streets against holding an IPL match in the state, causing difficulties for players to reach the ground.

The toss, which was scheduled to be held at 19:30 PM IST, was taken at 7.43 pm — a delay of 13 minutes.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Virat Kohli Gifts Nitish Rana His Bat For Taking His Wicket

Harsha Bhogle, cricket analyst and commentator for this match, however, revealed the reason behind the delay in the toss.

According to Harsha, the captains — MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik — were ready in the field with the commentator Ian Bishop for the toss but the match officials were stuck outside the Stadium due to the protest. Hence, the toss was delayed.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Players Ruled Out Due To Injury And Their Replacements!

Bhogle shared this news on Twitter. He wrote:

Life in several parts of the city was thrown out of gear after many Tamil outfits staged protests against holding the IPL matches at Chepauk stadium to demand a Cauvery Management Board from the Centre.

CSK, who rode on Dwayne Bravo’s whirlwind 30-ball 68 to dramatically beat Mumbai Indians by one wicket in the tournament opener, are playing at home after serving a two-year ban imposed due to the spot-fixing scandal which rocked the cash-rich tournament in 2013.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Vinay Kumar, Piyush Chawla, Tom Curran, Kuldeep Yadav

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Sam Billings, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur