IPL 2018: Brendon McCullum Plays Scoop Shot, Scores 13 Runs Off 1 Ball — Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore set 168-run target for Mumbai Indians to chase after being asked to bat first at M Chinnaswamy Stadium

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s (RCB) most destructive batsman Brendon McCullum played the most innovative shot in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) season 2018 to clear the boundary for a six over wicket-keepers head during the match between RCB and Mumbai Indians (MI) at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on May 1.

With this shot, McCullum also created history by becoming the first batsman in this IPL season to score 13 runs off just 1 ball.

The incident happened during the 10th over of RCB’s innings when Hardik Pandya bowled a no-ball to McCullum only to get hit for a six. It was the second ball of the over when Pandya bowled the above-waist full-toss to McCullum, who had stepped down from his crease to play the shot. The ball took the thick edge to clear the rope over third-man. The batsman got a free-hit.

In the next delivery, McCullum played the most innovative ‘scoop’ shot to clear the rope again over the wicket-keeper Ishan Kishan’s head. With this, McCullum added 13 runs for RCB off just 1 ball.

Earlier, Sourav Ganguly held the record of scoring 13 runs from one ball in IPL when he did it in 2014 against Rajasthan Royals (RR), while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Meanwhile, MI skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl against Virat Kohli-led RCB in Match Number 31 of the IPL.

Teenage off-spinner Washington Sundar is back to play for the hosts in place of Murugan Ashwin, even as South African star AB De Villiers continues to warm the bench after being down with the flu. The visitors also made one change in their playing XI by bringing back West Indian all-rounder Keiron Pollard in place of Evin Lewis, who injured his wrist.

Mumbai Indians: Suryakumar Yadav, Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan(WK), Jean-Paul Duminy, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Quinton de Kock(WK), Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli(Captain), Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Colin de Grandhomme, Washington Sundar, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal.