Triple blow for Delhi Daredevils as Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Angelo Mathews leave midway through IPL 2017!

Delhi Daredevils lose their star players as they go back to their country to prepare for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy

Delhi Daredevils trio of Kagiso Rabada, Chris Morris and Angelo Matthews on Monday left the Indian Premier League (IPL) to join their respective national teams in the ICC Champions Trophy, starting June 1. The Delhi Daredevils (DD), after yet another dismal performance this season, are currently languishing at the penultimate spot in the eight-team tournament.

The Zaheer Khan led franchise could muster only four wins from their 11 matches so far and need to win all their remaining three matches to have any chance of making it to the playoffs. The Delhi side will next face Gujarat Lions (GL) at the Green Park in Kanpur on Wednesday.

It will be tough for DD as Sam Billings had already left the tournament for national duty playing against Ireland. This is bad news for DD as their chances of making it into playoffs have been dimmed by Sunrisers Hyderabad’s (SRH) win over Mumbai Indians (MI). Due to star players leaving the tournament midway, DD are left with only five foreign players in the side—  Corey Anderson, Carols Brathwaite, Ben Hilfenhaus, Pat Cummins and Marlon Samuels.

It would not be a surprise if DD take a similar decision to Gujarat Lions (GL), playing with only three overseas players due to their unavailability. However, this might turn out to be a blessing in disguise for Brathwaite who has not been given many chances despite being an explosive all-rounder and T20 World Cup 2016’s last-over hero.

It might be a blessing in disguise for Hilfenhaus who will be making his debut for DD in IPL 2017.