Timeline: Rohit Sharma makes it 10 out 10. Find out how

IPL, Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma amassed 264 not out against SL at Eden Garden, apart from that he smashed another double against Australia in 2013

So, what are we actually talking about in relation to Rohit Sharma, the captain of Mumbai Indians and the toast of Mumbai currently. Rohit Sharma rise has been emphatic since 2007 and he rounds up the decade with a third title for Mumbai Indians, ideal one may say. He may not have been at the best of his form this year but looking back at the ten years of Rohit Sharma you will realize he has come from strength to strength. In fact, in this period he has smashed the highest score by an individual in 50-overs cricket, he amassed 264 not out against Sri Lanka at Eden Garden, apart from that he smashed another double against Australia in 2013. That shows he has really grown from being an upcoming talent to a full-bloom flower.

Rohit Sharma’s timeline:

2007: This was a crucial year, he was a part of three winning outfits. He first helped Mumbai to the Ranji crown. Then he was also a part of the Vijay Hazare trophy. Then to round up a successful year, he helped India win the first edition of the T20 WC in South Africa.

2009: He was back in winning ways in 2009. Indian Premier League was shifted out of India due to political reasons and IPL had gone to South Africa. Rohit was a part of the Deccan Chargers outfit, which lifted the crown under the leadership of Adam Gilchrist.

2013: This was a defining year for him, by then he was opening the batting for team India. The year started with Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians lifting the IPL crown, he followed it with a Champions Trophy victory for Mumbai Indians and then came the big ICC recognition. India then went to England to win the ICC Champions Trophy, which is also called the mini world cup. Rohit Sharma was a part of that team, he was opening the batting with Shikhar Dhawan.

2015: Then came 2015, Sachin Tendulkar’s last season and the onus was on Mumbai Indians to give Sachin Tendulkar a fitting exit. Rohit Sharma was phenomenal throughout the tournament and MI won the IPL crown for the second time.

2017: Finally this year came and Rohit Sharma was again there with a trophy to savour MI had won the trophy thrice and Rohit was now the captain of the outfit.