Internet Refuses To Stop Raging Over R Ashwin 'Mankading' Jos Buttler In IPL 2019

Premeditated or not, R Ashwin was well within his rights to run Jos Buttler out and appeal

If the bowler oversteps the line, it is called a no-ball. In limited overs cricket, he does not only bowl that delivery again, but also fears getting hit for a boundary because of free hit. In yesterday’s Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 clash between Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Rajasthan Royals (RR), skipper Ashwin ran out non-striker batsman Jos Buttler for crossing the crease. The move, called Mankading, has triggered a debate online.

Few termed it against the ‘so-called spirit of the game’ whereas others backed Ashwin’s move.

For those slamming Ashwin, here’s a few things to in mind:

According to an excerpt from rule 41.16:

If the non-striker is out of his/her ground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him/her out. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one in the over.

If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible.

The internet pundits and several veteran cricketers have been clamouring for the bowler to ‘give a warning’ before attempting the ‘Mankading’. But the rules clearly do not require the bowler to do so.

Jos Buttler, English wicketkeeper-batsman has a history of going down the crease before the ball has been bowled. His wicket was taken in a similar fashion by Sri Lankan bowler Sachithra Senanayake in 2016. At that time, Senanayake kept warning him throughout his last over, but Jos didn’t pay heed.

In fact, Buttler did the same on many earlier deliveries of Ashwin’s before the latter took his wicket. It has to be said that Ashwin was well within his right to appeal, and it was the third umpire’s decision to declare Jos out or not.

Netizens have been sharing match footage of when Ashwin ‘Mankaded’ Sri Lankan batsman Lahiru Thirimanne. In the video, Sachin Tendulkar can be seen intervening and asking the then-captain Virender Sehwag, to take back the appeal. As skipper, in this match it was Ashwin’s decision to take the call. There was nothing illegal about it but it’s still a move many cricketing legends refuse to see as legit.

Perhaps, instead of trolling Ashwin, something could be done about reforming the rule involving ‘Mankading’?

ALSO READ: Not In The Big League: A Look At The Forgotten Gems Of IPL