India vs South Africa, 1st Test Highlights: One bowler short African bowling lineup demolishes Virat Kohli & Co

India vs South Africa, first Test highlights

India lose first Test by 72 runs as they suffered from a major batting collapse on Day 4. India needed 208 runs to win the first Test. The Day 3 was called off without a ball being bowled due to rain. Day 2 belonged to South African bowlers who wrapped up India’s first innings for 209. Despite the batting collapse, Hardik Pandya starred as he counter-attacked the Proteas bowlers and scored a fighting knock of 93. Pandya was well supported by Bhuvneshwar who contributed with 25 runs in the 99-run partnership for the 8th wicket.

Earlier, the Indian pace attack was brutal enough to dent the Proteas batting top order in the first first session. Bhuvneshwar picked up crucial wickets in his first three overs and provided team India an early breakthrough. Later, AB de Villiers (65) and Faf du Plessis (62) anchored the inning in the second session until Bumrah took his first Test wicket. The Indian debutant bowled De Villiers out while Du Plessis was hunted down by Pandya.

Bhuvneshwar picked 4 wickets and Ashwin clinched 2. Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Pandya contributed as well as they picked up a wicket each. South Africa were all out for 286 in 73.1 overs.

The Capetown pitch offered the same to the home team when they came to bowl. The top three Indian batsmen — Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan and skipper Virat Kohli were back to pavilion with a score of 27. The Proteas pace department has indicated that they could be more leathal on their home ground.

On the second day, Cheteshwar Pujara and Rohit Sharma will resume the innings from 28/3.

ALSO READ: Steven Smith becomes joint second-fastest to reach 6,000 Test runs; equals Gary Sobers, way ahead of Virat Kohli, Joe Root


India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Parthiv Patel, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Lokesh Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja

ALSO READ: Oops! South Africans hoist Indian flag upside down ahead of 1st Test in Cape Town, rectify later

South Africa: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Chris Morris, Vernon Philander, Theunis de Bruyn