Kohli excluded from the ICC Test team of the year, Ashwin bags Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

Ashwin wins ICC Player of the Year as well as ICC Test Player of the Year

After an extensive year of cricket all around the world, it is time to reap the rewards. The annual ICC Awards honours international players and officials for their exceptional performance throughout the year in different formats. The Awards are divided into 10 categories – Umpire of the Year, Spirit of Cricket Award, One-day Team of the Year, Test Team of the Year, Associate Player of the Year, Emerging Player of the Year, Captain of the Year, T20I Performance of the Year, ICC One-day Player of the Year, ICC Test Player of the Year, Women’s Cricketer of the Year, and ICC Player of the Year.

The winner in each category is decided on the basis of majority of votes attained. The panel of 56 consists of 10 national team Test captains, members of the Elite panel of ICC umpires and referees (18), eminent former players and cricket correspondents (28). In case a player gets the same number of votes, the award is shared.

Umpire of the Year

Former South African first-class cricketer Marais Erasmus has been chosen as the best umpire in 2016. England’s Richard Kettleborough’s streak of winning the award in 2013, 2014 and 2015 has finally been broken by Erasmus. “(David) Shepherd has been one of the role models for many aspiring umpires. To win the trophy named after him is something to be proud of,” said Erasmus after receiving the award.

Spirit of Cricket Award

One of the most prestigious awards, it is given to the captain of the team that has upheld the ‘Spirit of the Game’. They have played the ‘gentleman’s sport’ by truly respecting the officials, opponents and their own team members. Pakistan’s Misbah-ul-Haq is the winner of this year’s Spirit of Cricket Award. “As a team, we have focused on playing within the rich traditions of the sport with a positive mindset and approach,” said Misbah at the ceremony.

Test Team of the Year

The Test of the Year has been announced. Australia’s David Warner and England skipper Alastair Cook will be the openers. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson will come one-down while Joe Root, Adam Voges, and Jonny Bairstow will form the middle-order. Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Mitchell Starc are the three all-rounders with Rangana Herath and Dale Steyn in the squad as specialist bowlers. Australian skipper Steven Smith is the 12th man. Cook will lead the side and Bairstow will keep wickets. Surprisingly, Indian captain Virat Kohli is not in the list despite scoring more than 1200 runs and three double centuries this year.

One-day Team of the Year

David Warner has retained his opening spot in the ODI team as well. South Africa’s Quinton de Kock will give warner company and will also keep wickets. India’s Rohit Sharma will come at the loss of first wicket. Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Jos Buttler will strengthen the middle-order. Mitchell Marsh, Ravindra Jadeja and Mitchell Starc will be the bowling all-rounders with Kagiso Rabada and Sunil Narine in the team as specialists. Imran Tahir has been picked as the 12th man.

ICC Player of the Year and ICC Test Player of the Year

One of the best all-rounder India has ever produced, R Ashwin has bagged two major awards this year. He has been adjudged the ICC Cricketer of the Year as well as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year for match-winning performances with the ball as well as the bat this year for India. He received the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as Cricketer of the Year.

ICC One-day Player of the Year

South Africa’s wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock has been awarded the One-day Player of the Year for his vital contributions. He made 857 runs in 17 ODIs at an average of 57.13. Kock made his career best score of 178 against Australia this year.

Emerging Player of the Year

Bangladesh’s speedster Mustafizur Rahman has been awarded the Emerging Player of the Year. He has deceived the best in the business with his slower deliveries and batsmen are still trying to find an answer to his pace variations. He played a vital role in IPL team, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s win this year.

ICC T20I Performance of the Year

Remember the last over of the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 finals earlier this year? West Indies needed 19 runs in the last over against England and were hoping for a miracle when Carlos Brathwaite did something unbelievable. He smashed 3 sixes on Ben Stokes’ bowling and helped West Indies lift the title for the second time. ICC has awarded Brathwaite for that effort of his.

ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year

Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad has been chosen as the Associate Player of the Year.

New Zealand’s Suzie Bates won the Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year as well as the T20I Women’s Cricketer of the Year. The Women’s Team of the Year includes Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand) (wk), Smriti Mandhana (India), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) (captain), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Sune Luus (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Kim Garth (12th woman) (Ireland).