World Cup 2019 Fixtures Released, India To Face Pakistan On June 16

Hosts England will be hoping to finally grab the 50-over World Cup trophy

International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2019 fixtures have been released. Hosts England will go up against South Africa in the tournament opener on May 30 at the Oval in London. There have been a few changes in the World Cup format this time around. The teams will engage in a round-robin format like in the World Cup 1992. WC 2019 will have one more team, taking the total number of teams participating to 10.

India will play their first match against South Africa. The main event of the league stages — India vs Pakistan clash — will take place on June 16.

Here’s the full schedule of World Cup 2019 by venue –

Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
1 June – New Zealand vs Sri Lanka (d)
4 June – Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka (d)
8 June – England vs Bangladesh (d)
15 June – South Africa vs Afghanistan (d/n)

County Ground Bristol, Bristol
1 June – Afghanistan vs Australia (d/n)
7 June – Pakistan vs Sri Lanka (d)
11 June – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (d)

County Ground Taunton, Taunton
8 June – Afghanistan vs New Zealand (d/n)
12 June – Australia vs Pakistan (d)
17 June – Windies vs Bangladesh (d)

Edgbaston, Birmingham
19 June – New Zealand vs South Africa (d)
26 June – New Zealand vs Pakistan (d)
30 June – England vs India (d)
2 July – Bangladesh vs India (d)
11 July – Second semi-final (2 v 3) (d)
12 July – Reserve day

Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
5 June – South Africa vs India (d)
10 June – South Africa vs Windies (d)
14 June – England vs Windies (d)
22 June – India vs Afghanistan (d)
24 June – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (d)

Headingley, Leeds
21 June – England vs Sri Lanka (d)
29 June – Pakistan vs Afghanistan (d)
4 July – Afghanistan vs Windies (d)
6 July – Sri Lanka vs India (d)

Lord’s, London
23 June – Pakistan vs South Africa (d)
25 June – England vs Australia (d)
29 June – New Zealand vs Australia (d/n)
5 July – Pakistan vs Bangladesh (d/n)
14 July – Final (d)
15 July – Reserve day

Old Trafford, Manchester
16 June – India vs Pakistan (d)
18 June – England vs Afghanistan (d)
22 June – Windies vs New Zealand (d/n)
27 June – Windies vs India (d)
6 July – Australia vs South Africa (d/n)
9 July – First semifinal (1 v 4) (d)
10 July – Reserve day

The Oval, London
30 May – England vs South Africa (d)
2 June –South Africa vs Bangladesh (d)
5 June – Bangladesh vs New Zealand (d/n)
9 June – India v Australia (d)
15 June – Sri Lanka vs Australia (d)

The Riverside, Chester-le-Street
28 June – Sri Lanka vs South Africa (d)
1 July – Sri Lanka vs Windies (d)
3 July – England vs New Zealand (d)

Trent Bridge, Nottingham
31 May – Windies vs Pakistan (d)
3 June – England vs Pakistan (d)
6 June – Australia vs Windies (d)
13 June – India v New Zealand (d)
20 June – Australia vs Bangladesh (d)

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said,

“It’s always an exciting moment ahead of any major event to announce the schedule and for the ICC Cricket World Cup. Next summer fans around the world will be treated to compelling and competitive cricket as the best teams in the world go head to head in this round robin format for the right to be crowned World Champions.”


ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Virat Kohli’s Hilarious Reaction To Mandeep Singh Hitting Spider-Cam With The Ball — Watch

The good thing about the knockout games of WC 2019 is that they will be followed by a reserve day in case rain plays spoilsport and the match gets washed out.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Pakistani Journalist Faces Backlash For Lauding MS Dhoni’s Innings Against RCB!

Afghanistan and Windies will be the two teams who will take part in WC 2019 after playing in the WC 2018 qualifiers in Zimbabwe.