Why We Don't Blame Gautam Gambhir For Losing His Cool With This Umpire

Another example of umpiring standards going down in domestic circuit

Two-time World Cup winner Gautam Gambhir, is not the one to hold back his emotion.  He will answer sledging with sledging. On his day, he will dominate the opposition in every way possible. It seemed like one of those days when he came to bat in Ranji Trophy 2018 match between Delhi and Himachal Pradesh on November 12.

Gambhir was in fine nick scoring runs at ease, finding the gaps and getting Delhi off to a great start on Day 1. The Delhi opener was about to reach his half-century when the Umpire’s howler resulted in his wicket.

On the first ball of the 17th over, Gambhir came forward trying to work the ball towards leg side. Mayank Dagar’s delivery spun a little more and hit his front pad and the ball carried to the leg slip fielder Priyanshu Khanduri.

Himachal Pradesh players appealed to the umpire for a bat and pad catch and he raised his finger immediately. The 37-year-old started walking back to the pavilion reluctantly but not before letting the umpire know that he has made a big mistake.

The replays showed that there was daylight between the bat and ball.

What could have been a big innings for the left-handed opener was cut-short because of the umpiring blunder. He scored 44 runs off 50 deliveries including 8 boundaries.

Delhi could score 317 runs in the first innings. The scoreboard could have been different had Gambhir stayed on the crease for one more session. Do you think Gambhir made a mistake by showing dissent or his anger was justified?

ALSO READ: Did This Delivery Finally End Tensions Between Hafeez, Ross Taylor & Sarfraz Ahmed?