When Harmanpreet Kaur Was Scared That Umpire May Snatch Her Bat After Hitting A Six

An unintentional compliment from the umpire to Harmanpreet Kaur

Harmanpreet Kaur is one of the biggest hitter women cricket has ever seen. Her 171 in World Cup 2017 semi-final against Australia is a testimony to her big-hitting skills. Innings like these make us wonder how she generates immense amount of power in her shots that the ball goes deep into the crowd.

Well, she is a fan of former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag and lives by the code ‘see the ball, hit the ball’. In a recent episode of Breakfast with Champions, Harmanpreet recalled an incident when the umpire checked her bat immediately after she hit the ball over the rope. Yes, it happened!

The umpire took out the instrument to check whether the dimensions of the bat were within the rules of the game. The Indian T20I skipper did not mention the specific match in which it happened. But it is an achievement for a player that she planted a doubt in the mind of the umpire.

Luckily, the bat the dimensions of the bat were marginally within the rules of the game. For a second, she was surprised and worried at the same time as ignoring the rules of the game would have had consequences.

Surely this will go down as one of the craziest on-field cricket stories on the field. Meanwhile, we are still want to know when this incident happened. The 30-year-old plays Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL, Australia) and Women’s Cricket Super League (England) as well. Maybe it happened over there as incidents like these are not often ignored when aired in India.

ALSO READ: Kohli, ABD & Stoinis! Shreyas Gopal Could Not Have Got A Better Hat-trick Than That