Thisara Perera named Sri Lankan captain for 3 ODIs, T20Is

India will also see a change in the captaincy with Rohit Sharma replacing Virat Kohli for the ODI series

Thisara Perera has been named the captain of the Sri Lankan team for their 3 ODIs and as many T20Is versus India. The 28-year-old will take the mantle from opening batsman Upul Tharanga under whose captaincy Sri Lanka suffered three 5-0 whitewashes earlier this year. Perara is an all-rounder, who can pick up crucial wickets and can also hit the ball hard. Sri Lanka’s only other option was Angelo Matthews, but Matthews stepped down from the portfolio in July earlier this year. That is when Upul Tharanga was made the ODI captain and Dinesh Chandimal became the Test captain.

ALSO READ: India v Sri Lanka, ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Shikhar Dhawan scores 125, Twitter calls him the student that FAILS ALL YEAR, TOPS IN BOARDS

So, Sri Lanka will again have a new captain. Things are on the downside for the Emerald Isle nation after they lost the second Test to India. Meanwhile, India has taken a 1-0 unassailable lead in the series, with the Delhi Test match still to be played. Sri Lanka will miss the services of Rangana Herath in the final Test as he has opted out, owing to a recurring backache.

ALSO READ: Rangana Herath will MISS out on the crucial 3rd test at Delhi

Apart from suffering whitewashes at the hands of South Africa, India and Pakistan in 2017 that threatened automatic qualification for the 2019 World Cup, Tharanga also got into trouble twice due to slow over rates and was suspended. All in all, this is a team that is still recovering from the exit of big players like Mahela Jayawardena, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Lasith Malinga.

How Sri Lanka should line up against India in ODI Cricket –

Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama/Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera (C), Akila Dhananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga.

Twenty20 Cricket –

Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilshan Munaweera, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunarathne, Kusal Perera/Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera (C), Seekuge Prasanna/Akila Dhananjaya, Vikum Sanjaya/Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga.

ALSO READ: Ravichandran Ashwin and Russell Arnold are a fan of each other and this Twitter conversation proves it!

There is a new captain for the Indian team as well – Rohit Sharma. Virat Kohli has been permitted rest owing to the non-stop cricket he has been playing.