These big names have been released by their franchises for IPL 10

Dale Steyn, Irfan Pathan, and Kevin Pietersen are some of the players who have been released

The cash-rich league is back in business. The eight teams competing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) – Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rising Pune Supergiants, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Gujarat Lions, and Kings XI Punjab – are all set with their match-winning combinations.

In order to be the best, team dynamics play a vital role. Making full use of the transfer season, the franchises have let go of some of their existing players to avail better options. Before the tenth edition of IPL gets underway in April next year, here’s how the teams are placed. Find out who has been retained and who has been released.

Don’t be disheartened if your favourite player has been dropped. He can be picked up by another franchise in the auctions or he may still be retained by the same team using the ‘Right-To-Match’ card.

Gujarat Lions

Suresh Raina led Lions were the first team to qualify in the last season. With 9 wins from 14 games in the group stages, Lions have not made many changes to their core team. The outfit has released Paras Dogra, Eklavya Dwivedi, Sarabjit Ladda, Pravin Tambe, Umang Sharma, Amit Mishra and Akshdeep Nath. The only international player they have released is South African speedster Dale Steyn who is currently struggling with a shoulder injury.

Current Squad: 16
International Players: 6
Expenditure: 51.65 cr
Budget Remaining: 14.35 cr

Gujarat Lions, IPL

Gujarat Lions’ squad for IPL 10

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The defending champions have omitted couple of big names from their squad. Leg-spinner Karn Sharma, England T20 captain Eoin Morgan, New Zealand pacer Trent Boult, Ashish Reddy, T Suman and Aditya Tare are the players who have been excluded. The team has a strong batting line-up with David Warner, Kane Williamson, Shikhar Dhawan, and Yuvraj Singh. Nehra, Mustafizur, Barinder Sran and Bhuvi have strengthened the fast bowling attack. The big question is that will the franchise use the special card to retain Karn Sharma in the auctions or they’ll look to recruit new spinners?

Current Squad: 17
International Players: 5
Expenditure: 45.1 cr
Budget Remaining: 20.9 cr

SRH, Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s squad for IPL 10

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli led RCB have a star-studded line-up. With impressive performances from most of their international recruits, Bangalore are sorted as far as their batsmen and all-rounders are concerned. Their bowling department needs to be strengthened and keeping that in mind, they have most of their changes. Varun Aaron, Abu Nechim, David Wiese, Kane Richardson, Vikramjeet Malik, Praveen Dubey, Akshay Karnewar, Vikas Tokas, Parvez Rasool and Chris Jordan have been released.

Current Squad: 20
International Players: 8
Expenditure: 53.175 cr
Budget Remaining: 12.825 cr

Royal Challengers Bangalore, RCB, IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s squad for IPL 10

Mumbai Indians

The team had a mixed season last year with an equal number of wins and losses in their 14 appearances. They finished fifth and would have been disappointed to not make it to the playoffs. They have released four overseas players – Corey Anderson, Jerome Taylor, Martin Guptill and Marchant de Lange. Former India U-19 captain Unmukt Chand, Akshay Wakhare, Nathu Singh and Kishore Kamath have also been omitted from the squad.

Current Squad: 20
International Players: 6
Expenditure: 54.445 cr
Budget Remaining: 11.555 cr

Mumbai Indians, IPL, MI

Mumbai Indians’ squad for IPL 10

Delhi Daredevils

Just like Mumbai Indians, Delhi Daredevils, too, could have qualified for the playoffs had they won one or two more matches. With 7 wins and 7 losses, DD were placed at sixth position last season due to their poor net run-rate. The franchise had bought Pawan Negi for a massive sum of 8.5 crores but he had failed to deliver last season. In a not so surprising move, DD have released Negi from their squad. They have also released Imran Tahir, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Joel Paris, Pawan Suyal, Akhil Herwadkar and Mahipal Lomror.

Current Squad: 18
International Players: 5
Expenditure: 44.5 cr
Budget Remaining: 21.5 cr

Delhi Daredevils, IPL, DD

Delhi Daredevils’ squad for IPL 10

Kings XI Punjab

They only won 4 games and finished at the bottom of the table in the last season. David Miller’s dismal performance as a captain, fights between teammates and so on… A lot was reported about Punjab’s poor show. Despite all that, the franchise has shown belief in their team members and have released the least number of players. Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Kyle Abbott and Farhaan Behardien are the ones who won’t be a part of KXIP next season.

Current Squad: 19
International Players: 5
Expenditure: 42.65 cr
Budget Remaining: 23.35 cr

Kings XI Punjab, IPL, KXIP

Kings XI Punjab’s squad for IPL 10

Rising Pune Supergiants

Despite big names like Ajinkya Rahane, Steven Smith, R Ashwin and captain MS Dhoni himself, the team could win only 5 games in the group stages. RPS stood seventh last season and would be looking to put up a better show in the tenth edition of the league. The team management has decided to let go 12 players. Kevin Pietersen, Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Thisara Perera, RP Singh, Scott Boland, M Ashwin, Peter Handscomb, Saurabh Tiwary, Albie Morkel and George Bailey won’t be a part of the franchise.

Current Squad: 16
International Players: 5
Expenditure: 46.9 cr
Budget Remaining: 19.1 cr

Rising Pune Supergiants, IPL, RPS

Rising Pune Supergiants’ squad for IPL 10

Kolkata Knight Riders

Under Gautam Gambhir’s captaincy, KKR have performed well since 2011. They won the championship twice in 2012 and 2014 and made it to the playoffs twice in 2011 and 2016. The spin bowlers have been consistent throughout which has been a big positive for the squad. Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa have been the mainstay as far as the batting is concerned. Understandably, the franchise has let go of fast bowlers and international players to strengthen both the departments. Morne Morkel, Brad Hogg, Jason Holder, Colin Munro, John Hastings, Jaydev Unadkat, R Sathish, Manan Sharma and Shaun Tait won’t be seen in purple and gold anymore.

Current Squad: 14
International Players: 4
Expenditure: 46.25 cr
Budget Remaining: 19.75 cr

Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL, KKR

Kolkata Knight Riders’ squad for IPL 10