Team India squad announced for ODI series against South Africa, no place for Raina, KL Rahul

The ODI series will begin on February 1 in Durban, four days after the conclusion of the third Test

The BCCI selection committee announced a 17-member squad on December 24 for the ODI series against South Africa starting from February 1 in Durban. No severe changes have been made in the squad for India’s first away bilateral ODI series in 2018. Kedhar Jadhav, who was ruled out of the 3-match ODI series due to injury, is back in the squad alongside frontline batsmen including Hardik Pandya and MS Dhoni.

Despite passing the Yo-Yo test recently, Indian veteran cricketers Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh yet again failed to make their respective comebacks. Raina last played an ODI for India in 2015 while Yuvraj played his last game against West Indies in the month of July 2017.

In addition, KL Rahul and Umesh Yadav have also not found their berths in the team.Here’s the Indian squad:

India squad: Virat Kohli (c) Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur

Shreyas Iyer, who recently smashed consecutive half-centuries against Sri Lanka, will also travel to South Africa. Along with Iyer, Dinesh Karthik has also been included into the squad.

The pace department is studded with skilled pacers including Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami while young Shardul Thakur also joins the party. The spin brigade including Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel remains intact. They have troubled the batsmen in the recent home season and will be expected to continue the same on the South African soil.