Team India equal Australia's 9-year-old Test record despite the draw at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

The Delhi Test got drawn after Sri Lankan batting lineup put up a fight in the fourth innings on Day 5 at Feroz Shah Kotla

Team India have managed to equal Australia’s winning streak of 9 Test series win on the trot. India have not lost a single Test series since August 2015. Despite not being able to win the third Test at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi, India won the Test series by 1-0 and created history. The winning streak started with Sri Lanka only when India beat them in August 2015. The series win includes 3 wins against Sri Lanka, one against South Africa, Windies, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh and Australia.

Here’s the list of top 7 periods when teams registered most series win on the trot –

Australia (9 series win) October 2005 – May 2008
India (9 series win) August 2015 – till now
England (8 series win) July 1884 – July 1890
Australia (7 series win) March 1946 – November 1951
Australia (7 series win) October 1956 – June 1961
Windies (7 series win) February 1983 – February 1986
Australia (7 series win) December 2001 – October 2003

ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Dhoni’s return to CSK confirmed as franchises allowed to retain 5 players

The Delhi Test got drawn as the Sri Lankan batsmen put up a fight in the second innings with the bat. With a target of 410 runs to chase, Sri Lanka finished 299 for 5 on Day 5.

ALSO READ: ‘Birthday Boy’ Ravindra Jadeja gets ‘hate’ tweets as his ‘no ball’ denies India a crucial wicket

India have a chance at breaking the record of the most series win on the trot in Tests. Though it will be a challenge for them to beat South Africa. The tour will commence from December 30, a warm-up two-day game. The first Test will start on January 5. If India manage to beat South Africa and that too on their home soil, it will silence the critics who have said that India are dominant only at home.