Sorry What? Umpire Busy Signalling Four Despite Riyan Prayag Getting Out Hit Wicket

IPL umpiring has been so bad that Steve Bucknor might be thinking of coming out of retirement

Umpires have been under the scanner more than any player in this  edition of  Indian Premier League (IPL). There is a long list of blunders, from oversight of  front foot no ball to 7-ball over. It will not be an understatement to say that umpiring has been all over this place this season. In one instance, the umpire even forgot that the ball in his pocket.

But just when you think you have seen the worst, there comes another Royal blunder. On the fifth delivery of Rajasthan Royals’ (RR) innings yesterday, Riyan Parag was surprised by a short ball from Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) Andre Russell. The short ball rushed towards him hitting the glove but in the follow-through Parag ended up hitting the stumps with his bat.

It was clear that the 17-year-old was out hit wicket but umpire Gould was signalling a boundary. The 61-year-old seemed to ignore that the bails were off, as he focused on the ball reaching the boundary after hitting the gloves. It was Russell who pointed out that he was out,a Parag had already started walking out of the ground.

Still ignorant of the fact that the RR batsman was walking off, Gould signalled it a dead ball. He would have probably believed that the bails were dislodged by the wind. At the end it was third umpire Nitin Menon who gave him out.

Despite all the howlers, Gould is among the list of umpires who will umpire in upcoming World Cup 2019. We can only hope that he does not give a blunder of a decision against India.

ALSO READ: Ashoke Dinda Silences ‘Dinda Academy Trolls’ & RCB With His Career Statistics