Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu announces promotions for Indian women cricketers from Railways

Union Minister of Railways, Suresh Prabhu has announced a special reward for Team India women cricketers employed with the railways

Union Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu has announced promotions for the women cricketers from Railways, who are representing India at the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017. The announcement has been made a day after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a cash price worth Rs 50 lakh to each player of the squad.

According to a PTI report, Rekha Yadav, executive director, Sports & Secretary of the Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB), said,”Hon’ble Union Minister for Railways, Shri Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu has conveyed his best wishes to the Indian team. He has announced out-of-turn promotions to women cricketers of Railways currently in the Indian World Cup squad in England. There will be cash award too as per our extant policy.”

Currently, there are 10 women players in the Indian squad who have been employed by the Indian Railways. Besides skipper Mithali Raj, the other players are Harmanpreet Kaur, Ekta Bisht, Punam Raut, Veda Krishnamurthy, Poonam Yadav, Sushma Verma, Mona Mesharm, Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Nuzhat Parween.

Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur have been outstanding in the tournament so far. The Indian skipper is currently the third leading run-scorer of the tournament with 392 runs in her account. While Harmanpreet Kaur played a fantastic knock of 171 runs off 115 balls and led India to the finals.

Prior to this announcement, Mumbai division of Western Railway (WR) had recommended Harmanpreet’s name for promotion. According to several media reports,  Ravinder Bhakar, chief PRO of WR said,”Certainly, we would recommend her name to the Railway Ministry for promotion. We will also felicitate her when she comes back home.”

For interesting videos from InUth, follow us on Youtube.com/InUthdotcom