New Zealand make a big change in their T20I squad against India after 19 months, recalls Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor has been in fine nick in the recently concluded three-ODI series against New Zealand as he took visitors to their only victory in the series

New Zealand have made one change in their T20I squad. Rewarding their experienced player, New Zealand recalled Ross Taylor in the T20I squad after a long gap of 19 months. Taylor replaces Todd Astle in The T20I squad who went back home after suffering a groin injury in the warm-up game against Board President’s XI. Taylor has been in good form in the ODI series and his expertise might come in handy for the BlackCaps. Taylor is well aware of the conditions given his experience in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Kane Williamson-led New Zealand side will go up against India in the first T20I at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi.

Justifying Taylor’s selection in the team, New Zealand coach Mike Hesson said,

Ross is in good form as well. He gives us another option through the middle order. It’s a real shame for Todd, but it will be nice to have Ross’ experience in the group.

Hesson also talked about New Zealand’s chances in the upcoming three-T20I series. He said,

If rankings are anything to go by we’ve obviously got a chance. We’re No. 1 in the world at the moment (for T20). We’ve got the bulk of the squad we’ve had for a while with some fresh and exciting faces as well. Once again, it’s a tough challenge here playing in India.

New Zealand have had a tremendous record in T20Is against India. They have never been beaten by India in this format. They have won 5 out of 6 T20Is played against India as one match in 2012 was abandoned without a being bowled.

Ashish Nehra will bid goodbye to international cricket after the first T20I whether he gets to feature in the playing XI or not. Virat Kohli & Co. will be looking to make it a memorable one by registering their record first win over the BlackCaps.

New Zealand T20I Squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.